2005-02-26
There Or Now?

Old, familiar faces, abandoned dreams, broken promises, fateful mistakes past; figments of who I was, people I used to know, places I use to haunt.

Peering back through the open door to my unreconciled past. A past I never officially bid farewell, a past I never officially shook hands and parted ways with, a past which shadows me like a ghost.

Those friendly faces don't peer back at me in the here and now, they gaze at me through a distance. How do you still live there? How do you still exist in the same way you used to? Where is the inexorable change? The change I went through? Everything is the way it was when I left, the changes they went through aren't as great as the ones I went through.

I've changed too much to reconnect with that world. The people who have come and gone and come and stayed since those days have made too great an impact.

I'm caught between my bright future, and that dark unreconciled past, begging for attention.

before & & after