2005-02-25
Fields of Childhood Innocence

What's the use in growing all the way up? Why should I ever? What reason is there so change my innocent, childish ways of play?

None. None at all.

I'll always spend my days blowing purpley-blue billowy bubbles with a tiny plastic wand.

Romping through meadows in billowy cotton and crisp lace.

Tumbling 'round with grass stained knees.

Weaving daisy chain crowns for my little foolish king and myself.

Eyelashes fluttering, hovering 'cross tender cheeks.

Sprawled side by side on a hill, counting the stars and tracing constellations with squeals of glee.

I'll be a little girl forever, for the sheer innocent pleasure. I feel like I grew up too fast, left my childhood behind and bent under an assumed burden of maturity and adulthood, far sooner than I should have.

So with my little pirate flag I reclaim the childhood I stole from myself.

And I grab my lover's hand and laughingly pull him along with me.

before & & after