2004-04-26
Mismatched Pajamas

hearing: Halo - The Gravity Show
reading: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
wearing: creatively snipped boy's t shirt in a light cadet blue with some design on the front in orange, green, and dark blue; tan tank top underneath; jeans; brown belt

I got two very interesting interpretations of last night's question, And what does everyone have to say about mismatched pajamas and relinquished morals for money? I almost wasn't going to write about it, because what I was pondering, was very idiotic, but I really feel I should clarify and clear up this mystery.

I was pulling pajamas out of my drawer, growling a tad because I wanted to wear my superstar monkey shirt, but I didn't want to wear the sweatpants I usually wear with them. I swept my eyes across the contents of the drawer, even though I knew very well that I didn't have anything else that would match, when I laid eyes on a pair of white and light blue pj pants. Those would be comfortable and I like wearing those, but they do not match with my supermonkey shirt. One would have to be relinquished.

It then dawned on me, that some people would pull something like that out of their drawer and actually wear it, without qualms. I shivered audibly (yes, audibly) and began to announce to myself that you could never get me to wear mismatched pjs if you paid me one million dollars.

I stopped short at that comment to myself and considered, would I really pass up one million dollars, or any larger sum, just because I don't like wearing mismatched pajamas.

Society today, dictates to us, that for such a great sum of money, every moral we have is thrown out the window to obtain it. Any crazy, degrading, disgusting, illegal stunt will be performed in order to be granted an enormous sum of money. Its ok to discard morals you once held fast to, because this is a large sum of money...Money is more important�

So what I am trying to say, is that I would never throw my morals out the window for any sum of money. I would never do anything crazy or illegal, but what about something minor? If I were going to be paid ten million dollars to eat a jar of peanut butter, or wear a pair of mismatched pajamas for a week, would I do it? Should I do it? Would it be absurd to refuse to do something like that because I don�t want to be inconvenienced?

If the money were going to be donated to a worthy charity or such, I would definitely inconvenience myself and eat 10 jars of peanut butter and wear mismatched pajamas for a year. If it was for a good purpose, I would do it, but if I were just to be offered it, would I?

Well considering it that way, I think yes, I would. I would wear mismatched pajamas to win ten million dollars because I could then put it toward good causes and ends.

But I would never do something morally wrong for any amount of money, even if the money could be put towards good causes. I think, in a situation like that, the end probably wouldn�t justify the means.

We should really, really calm down my mind. I can�t believe I sat and worked those through and weighed things around for as long as I did last night. I over think. I over think chronically. Or at least, someone should give me some specific things to think on.

I KNOW! You should all ask me questions to ponder and answer. That would be cool. Ask me a thought provoking question which you want me to write an entry about. I am in a writing funk anyway with days filled with small tasks of no great importance for relating. Questions would give me something to write about. And something to think about. I might get into some interesting thinking positions and places if I get asked some good questions...

Yay.

Anyway.

That was poorly worded. I am terribly, terribly distracted. I have way too much small stuff on my mind, and way too much to watch out for. Paranoia is in full swing�

before & & after