2004-04-12
House of Insanity

hearing: Time Is Running Out - Muse
reading: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
wearing: jeans, belt, off white shirt, sage green shirt, purple faux flower tucked behind ear, ring, head phones

I have been "doing my duty" to my family one might say. Being as tired as I am, its easier to just hang out and steal your sister's plastic eggs, shove them up your shirt, and run away with them.

In short, those kinds of escapades equal a rather entertaining evening. We played a rousing game of four...excuse me, six square in the sunny, forty degrees farenheit weather. We played "Cutthroat" or "Pirate" style...which is, anything goes. We all stood shivering and sweating in the biting breeze, almost rolling, or violently bouncing a bright pink Disney Princess ball and laughing our heads off at the smallest things. My youngest sister eventually took to her bike and would come riding in through the midst of our game yelling "CONFUSEMENT CONFUSEMENT!!!" Needless to say, her bike was hit with the ball. On accident of course. But those lovingly resounding slaps on her helmet were certainly not! My father and brother dealt those to her.

Even my mother was persuaded to come out and join us. Relatively quiet and watchful, although she jumped in with her laughs and taunts at my father's blurts of humour. He is quite a ham. Sometimes, between his stupid humour and her wit, we get quite a show going. Somehow though I inherited neither and thus am dull. HA! But that's beside the point, eventually we were all too cold to continue playing. We went in, some of us rosy cheeked, others of us who have no pigment in their cheeks because their lips ended up with all of it, simply went in with frozen stiff hands.

I went in to type something up on my computer, and almost couldn't type. My fingers could not move half as fast as normal. I felt like I was going in slow motion and was frustrated that they could not obey my commands. But it didn't matter that they were shot through with pain from the heat and unable to type, because I had had great fun and gotten a good bit of excercise.

Soon after my mother's sister arrived and they went...somewhere. I honestly don't know where, but my mother is going to be gone overnight. Actually, she had two suitcases with her and a couple overnight bags. This must equal a few days out of the house. Whence she has gone, I know not. I was a tad worried because my parents were scuffling again (they had made up again since the fight earlier this week) earlier this afternoon, and the words they exchanged did not bode well for the situation at hand, yet later, they appeared to be on very good terms again. My mother was even speaking about how she wished it wasn't too late for her to call her sister and cancel. So whatever this may be...

Hopefully just that my mother needs some time away from us. Which I could understand perfectly. Let's consider our antics! HA! It is most rational.

And I think I chased away my pessimistic tendencies that would argue this otherwise. That would argue that this is not just a nice vacation for her but some other ominious problem. Although that argument does still gnaws at me a little. The things that were said in the fight earlier concern me... I am always prone to looking on the darkest side...no matter my mood...as happy as I am, I can still turn to the dark of this. The dark and negative always seem more rational to me. Oh my nature...Minus Megan truely...

Back on topic though, once my mother left, my father fell to fixing dinner, and in good time it was ready and we ate. During dinner, which was far more vibrant and talkative than when my mother is here (the house is always in a state of tedious restraint when she is around...she doesn't have much of a sense of humour and no one's antics are really well tolerated) my youngest sister went to telling jokes. I am a young child's greatest wish for the reciever of their stupid jokes made up on the spot. Why? I will laugh myself sick at stupidity. If they knew what I was laughing at, they would probably be crying because its rather cruel of me, but I laugh much too hard to get any words out (and I wouldn't anyway), so of course, they think I am laughing at them, and that their jokes are tremendously funny. So this is how it went down...

My youngest sister says to me, "Knock Knock", and I look her in the eye and ask her, "Who's there?" and she starts to say "What do you get..." by this time I am in stitches. I am laughing so hard I am choking on the roll I am eating and pounding the table in my mirth. She has begun with a knock knock joke, she believes it is the obligatory beginning for any joke, and I just found that tremendously funny. So I am laughing my head off and she continues telling,

"What do you get when you cross a..." at this point her eyes dart around the dinner table so she can gather the subjects of her joke, "a...ham............. a roll....... and mashed potatoes?"

I am off in stitches again because I can see already that this will be utter nonsense and completely stupid, I calm myself down enough to begin to say "what?" when she interrupts me and blurts out, "and a drink! Ham, roll, mashed potatoes and a drink!" I ask her what one gets when you combine these items and she laughingly delivers her punchline with a lot of pauses as she works it out.

"Well...well well... a...a.... truck! A truck comes and....and and....uhm... runs them over! And and... and smashes them! And then you have a smashed ham and a smashed dinner roll and smashed mashed potatoes!.............And a smashed drink!"

Right from the beginning, I was practically on the floor with laughter. I barely heard the rest of the joke. It was just what I was expecting. It was utterly stupid and she was so proud of her wit and humour. And I just couldn't help but laugh. I suppose that shows everyone how morbid I am. I wasn't thinking spitingly or cruelly of her. I just found it exceedingly droll and laughable. I had to be careful for a good hour after that, because I would begin to replay the scenario in my head, and I would hear just that beginning, the knock knock joke turned into a "What do you get when you cross a..." joke and I would start laughing loudly. I tried to take a drink and started thinking about it and had to force my brain not to until I was done with my drink, or there would have been a steady stream of juice pouring from my nose as I laughed again at her poor joke. Fortunately that was prevented and I have calmed down a great much since then.

Yet it does make me feel bad to think about how funny I find those sort of things. I just find ignorance terribly entertaining like that. I am so cold and heartless. I really need to work on that...

After that, nothing significant happened. It got later, I got cranky and irritable and snappish (almost cursed my brother out once...even almost snapped at my dad...), then I had some sugar, my mood went back up as I woke up futher, and now I am utterly calm and well again. My mood swings are crazy.

And thus is how my day is gone. I am ready to turn in now, but my bed does not look very inviting. My thoughts are too restless again for proper sleep...

before & & after