2004-11-09
I See The World Through A Camera Lens

hearing: nothing
reading: a stack of books sit on my nightstand. The First Men In The Moon by H.G. Wells, Beowulf, Selected Poems by Emily Dickinson, and The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
feeling: irritated and thirsty

It's picture time once again. 'Cause I see the world through a camera lens. Harhar.

The other day, my sister (cassie) and I were out for a walk. We enjoy taking walks in the afternoon, before the sun has a chance to begin to set. As we set out, we glanced to the creek (not a creek but I'll call it that) behind our house. As our eyes wandered over the rank grasses, not really paying attention to what we saw, a bright spot of color caught us by surprise. The distinctive head of a male duck. Oh joy, oh joy, two ducks on the creek. We thought they were long gone for winter by now, but how happy to be proved wrong. We could not stay then, for our time was limited. We crossed our fingers and hoped they would stay til we had finished our walk and come home.

And yes, when we got back, the ducks were still there. I scrambled inside and got the camera, and a tip-toeing chase ensued to catch a good picture of those ducks. I wanted to photograph them with a passion. One good picture at least, I wanted more, but one would do me. By a happy chance, my usually slow reflexes caught the ducks at just the right moment. The perfect moment. A beautiful photograph.

The Duck Takes To Wing

In the end, the clumsiness of my sister and I chased both ducks away entirely. I have not seen them since, and I do not expect to see any again for a very long while.

Tonight, I have been irritated and cranky. I hardly know what my problem is, but I found the best thing ever and a smile has been plastered on my face ever since.

Oh yes, oh yes behold

My Card-stock iPod


This is a wonderful thing. Truely. I could make a veritable army of iPods at no cost to myself. Could you imagine? The highlight of my evening. Bar None.

From there we move on to highlighting my clothing.

I have been very bored with my entire wardrobe lately. I have loathed it to the pits of hell for being so very monotonous. It's the same things coming up to be worn again and again. I hate it. I begrudgingly stuck on a pair of jeans, a gray shirt, and a black belt today and stared at myself in the mirror and almost broke it. I was too plain and too boring. Like everything else.

I added mesh armwarmers. A ponytail and my silly fabric bow. But to no help. There was an individuality sadly lacking.

I turned to a google image search. As is my custom. I pulled up a colorful piece of cover art from Out of The Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis. Next I knew, I had a snazzy decoration for the front of my shirt. I had a few accessories to match, threw them together, and suddenly I was bright, happy, and confident in my appearance and clothing. Yay! My creations of dress:

"these things are not strange Small One, though they are beyond our senses"

Somehow besides, the quote feels... appropriate. For something. In some way. Especially, I think, for the picture (on my shirt).

Quack Quack! (upside down)

The air lately has been unbearably dry. It does horrific things to my hair. The static cling is simply dreadful. So I've taken to keeping all of it up all of the time so I don't have to deal with it. I can't. I have found no hair care product effective. So I have to whisk the hair out of sight, to keep my head looking presentable. That's one of my cute little tricks of keeping up my side hair up. It's too short to keep back in the ponytail, but too long to let loose. So I find a strange method of taming it. Rather that than have it sticking to my face unpleasantly.

Now, where did I place the way back to my bed...

before & & after