Biography

This is the page all about me, Megan. The writer of this diary.

Explanation of the name of my site: Ululant Roar

Ululant means,"To howl, wail or lament loudly." When choosing a name for my diary that was short enough, I thought that would be strangely appropriate. My diary entries are the howling, wailing roar of a teen girl.



Explanation of my title: She'll Break Your Heart
"Winter is over, what should we do?" - This is actually a lyric from the song Jacking the Ball by The Sea & Cake. Winter is coming towards it's end...sort of... and now, What to do? At the close of this winter, whatever I mean by winter, what's going to happen next?
Past title: "She'll Break Your Heart" - This line is from the song Collide from the band Luna Halo.I chose it because I felt it fit some dual purpose my diary was supposed to serve. I'm attached. It's the identity of my diary and I hate to change the title now. I briefly switched it once, but to a title I used on another diary and that bothered me. So I keep this one close...

My faith. My life.

I am a born again Christian. This means, I recognized that I was a sinner in need of help. I asked Jesus to forgive me of my sins, and come into my life and take over it. I repented of my sins and with His help, turned away from them and toil towards the ultimate goal, eternal life with God. Jesus's death on the Cross cleared me of all the sins I have done, and will do, and bridges the gap, caused by Adam and Eve's sin, between myself and God, creator of the universe. I diligently read the Bible and pray, in hopes of following and becoming more and more like my Savior. God is now the center of everything I do, and I am very thankful for Him and for everything He has done for me. He has carried me through hard times, and gives my life a point it might not otherwise have.



Recommended Entries


I'm working on this list right now, and I hope to eventually have a seperate page for them, but I have too many entries to go through all at once. So for now, must reads for new readers/diary reviewers (I've chosen these entries because I feel they most eloquently and accurately describe myself, facets of my character, and some of my emotional cycles):
Sustenance And Blood In Paper And Ink: The Anatomy Of A Writer
And When The Wind Blows Her Away, They'll Wonder Why The Walls Are So Gaunt
Or Was It The Deplorable Slug Being Poked Out Of Her Shell Against Her Slothful Will?


A long winded biography

Eighteen years ago, a little baby girl was born to a young mother and father, in a suburban community of the Bay Area in Northern California. That little baby girl was named Megan. For Eight years, she lived with her parents and grandmother in a small house with a pool. She used to walk to school everyday with an adult, and she walked home from school everyday with an adult. She had a profuse amount of secret boyfriends at school, and was an extremely popular child. At home, her family had grown to include a younger sister, and a younger brother. She and her sister got on well, and her brother was a baby. She had a friendly, siamese cat whom had been around as long as she had. Life was extremely pleasant for this little girl. All was going well...

Then, at eight, her grandfather died, her aunt and cousin were coming to move in, and her parents decided it was time to move out. The loss of her grandfather barely phased Megan, she did not understand death yet. They moved forty five minutes away from her childhood home, and left all her friends without a proper chance to say goodbye. But being so young, she was not easily cast down, and accepted the move with grace and ease. She enjoyed the new house, and having a room all to her own. Her first pet cat died from the stress of the move and being so old, but she hardly acknowledged the loss of her cat. She was just too young to understand. She started school at a new elementary school. She did not have too hard of a time making friends, but she was never as popular, nor ever was she liked by boys, the way she had been in her first three years of school. This did not bother her too much until she grew older, when she began to wonder what went wrong that she lost the attention of the male gender...

Around this age, Megan wrote her first stories...they were short, and they were illustrated...one was about a horse and her foal, the other was about a grown up ballet teacher trying to salvage a studio for her class. She got great satisfaction out of writing the stories and ever after, was quite an writer. She authored a fictional mystery book for a writing contest, in which she won an honorable mention (she plagerised a tad too many story ideas and plots, so she could not win a higher place, but Megan did not understand plagerism back then...).

School contined well. At around the age of nine, she discovered Laura Ingalls Wilder. This author became Megan's favorite for the next two or three years. She read almost every book Laura Ingalls wrote and enjoyed them all very much. She read a great lot of other books, some favorite authors also including Beverly Cleary and Louisa May Alcott, but she doesn't remember most of what she read then. She just knows she read a lot...

At the age of eleven, she directed her very first play. It was a script from the American Girls collection about Felicity. It was a tulmultous experience. She headed the production of the whole thing with a little aid from her teacher. She was allowed to give a special presentation of it in the cafeteria to specially selected classes and parents. The whole thing went off very well. There was a great lot of other life lessons Megan had begun to learn; about boys, friends, and religion, but far too much to mention. This is not an account of all of her life lessons.

At twelve, her family; which had grown to include two more little sisters which brings the count to, and closes the count at, four younger siblings; had to move again, but only to a different house in the same town. She went to the same middle school almost all of her friends went to. This was around the time Megan went through an agnostic phase, sparked by classroom discussions and a school curriculum that included in depth studies of Hinduism and Buddhism. (Among many other lessons...such as evolution taught in history...science programs were very scanty...) Megan had her first social disasters. She had been friends with the popular girls for a very long time, and they liked her very much, but she was looking for a fuller relationship, a best friend, and when the new Hispanic girl came, Megan promptly became good friends with her, lost touch with the popular crowd, and started her own little group of friends, some of whom were somewhat unkind.

Megan's thirteenth year. Sadly, she did not acknowledge how fantastic that year was until far later. She was in seventh grade and spent the whole of that year looking forward to eighth grade, which turned out to be the most tulmultous and disastrous year of her entire life thus far. There is little worth mentioning now of the best and worst times of her life, but they were so. Eighth grade included the momentous decision to join leadership class. Leadership class is really an experience...oh my...and three quarters of the students in in were either Mormon, or stuck up popular kids. All the popular people... That year, she got a lot of insight into the inner politics and workings of businesses and schools. It was really eye opening and changed a lot of her prejudices, inclinations, and sympathies. Besides disillusioning her with the whole system of the student government, which did next to nothing. Leadership class had all the power, the hand picked students, not the elected student representatives, although the student officers did wield a great deal of power. They were also in leadership class though. Become a student officer, become a leadership student...

At fourteen, Megan's family moved out of California. She was so thankful. She had been extremely close to having a serious nervous breakdown, but that move away from society into the isolated rural community in Montana, did her worlds and worlds of good. This was the time when Megan finally began learning who she really was, what she really liked, and what she really believed. Now, her eyes were being opened to the inward.She had spent all her previous days trying to please everyone else, trying to be what everyone else would like as a friend. Now, she was finally becoming something pleasing to herself, and to God.

Most of the two years spent in Montana, were spent away from there, traveling with her father. It was a life changing two years and she learned to appreciate a good house that one could call home, that one could live in everyday...Many events happened then and she learned a lot, but I still don't feel that this is the place to share it all.

This brings us to today. Her family moved again at the end of September...out of Montana...I will tell you it was not back to California, but where exactly they moved to, shall remain a mystery undiscovered. She resides in the basement room of her new house and enjoys it very much. But she is growing exceedingly lonely, and beginning to worry very much at the great journey ahead of her...College looms, and it looms so close...She has her GED and will start a full load of courses at the community college in January 2005. There are other indicators that other great events may be on the verge of a breakthrough in her life. Of course, Megan is also extremely paranoid, pessimistic, and rather of a romantic leaning. She will persist at looking at her life through these rose colored glasses which will enlarge and distort circumstances pleasantly...(to Megan's eyes...sometimes it is unhappily and depressingly pleasant)...So this diary shall record her thoughts, reflections, and sometimes the events, of this period of her life. Whether it shall prove spectacular, and her future overwhelmingly magnificent and suprising, we have yet to see, it shall all unfold here though...

The End

The School Situation

This got heavy emendations. Basically, I was homeschooled and had been since the start of my freshman year of high school and got my GED in the spring of 2004. Homeschooling was somewhat loose and I didn't like to talk about it. Too boring and ick. In September 2004, I started taking two classes online through the community college. We couldn't afford any more than that, because we were going to have to pay non-resident fees. I didn't count as a state resident until October 2004. Then, for the spring semester I started taking classes at the college. I'm currently taking an Algebra course, a Chemistry course, a Shakespeare literature course, and an English Composition course. I am also taking an Interpersonal Communications course online. The goal is to get all of the generic, required courses I can out of the way first at the lowest expense. Then, I'm off to a four year college. As of now, my major will probably be something along the lines of English, Literature (British or French), Philology (yes, you heard that right), or History (possibly French, maybe British...).

before & & after