Daily Quotation Collection

This is where all my quotations I have quoted go... (always more to come)

On the subject of converting a book into a movie:"In a book, places must be described. In a movie, they can just take a picture, and knock out a thousand words." My father

"So I'm changing who I am,
Cause what I am's not good.
And I know You love me now,
But I don't see why You should."
Sixpence None The Richer, I always forget what song it's from...

"White hands of whiteness,
Wash the stars' faces,
Til glitter, glitter, glit, goes their brightness,
Down to poor places."
The song of the baby angels in Diamond's dream, from At the Back of the North Wind by George MacDonald

�What a good thing, for instance, it was that one princess should sleep for a hundred years! Was she not saved from all the plague of young men who were not worthy of her? And did she not come awake exactly at the right moment when the right prince kissed her? For my part, I cannot help wishing a good many girls would sleep till just the same fate overtook them. It would be happier for them, and more agreeable to their friends.� Little Daylight, George MacDonald

"The humans live in time but our Enemy destines them to eternity. He therefore, I belive, wants them to attend chiefly to two things, to eternity itself, and to that point of time which they call the Present. For the Present is the point at which time touches eternity. Of the present moment, and of it only, humans have an experience analogous to the experience which our Enemy has of reality as a whole; in it alone freedom and actuality are offered them. He would therefore have them continually concerned either with eternity (which means being concerned with Him) of with the Present- either meditating on their eternal union with, or seperation from Himself, or else obeying the present voice of consience, bearing the present cross, receiving the present grace, giving thanks for the present pleasure." The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis (that was Screwtape, a demon, and Enemy to him means God)

she's so pretty but she but doesn't always act that way
her mood's out swinging on the swing set almost every day
she said to me that she's so happy it's depressing
and all i said was "someone get that girl a mood ring"
Relient K, Mood Ring (love that song...sometimes I fear i am that way...my mood's out swinging on the swing set...lol...;) )

"Never having been human, (Oh, that abominable advantage of the Enemy's!)" The Screwtape Letters again...I love that...

"Give me, O Lord, a steadfast heart,
which no unworthy affection may drag downwards;
give me an unconquered heart,
which no tribulation may wear out;
give me an upright heart,
which no unworthy purpose may tempt aside."
Thomas Aquinas

"1 The words of the Preacher, the son of David, king in Jerusalem.

2"Vanity of vanities," says the Preacher;
"Vanity of vanities, all is vanity."

3What profit has a man from all his labor
In which he toils under the sun?
4One generation passes away, and another generation comes;
But the earth abides forever.
5The sun also rises, and the sun goes down,
And hastens to the place where it arose.
6The wind goes toward the south,
And turns around to the north;
The wind whirls about continually,
And comes again on its circuit.
7All the rivers run into the sea,
Yet the sea is not full;
To the place from which the rivers come,
There they return again.
8All things are full of labor;
Man cannot express it.
The eye is not satisfied with seeing,
Nor the ear filled with hearing.

9That which has been is what will be,
That which is done is what will be done,
And there is nothing new under the sun.
10Is there anything of which it may be said,
"See, this is new"?
It has already been in ancient times before us.
11There is no remembrance of former things,
Nor will there be any remembrance of things that are to come
By those who will come after.

12 I, the Preacher, was king over Israel in Jerusalem. 13And I set my heart to seek and search out by wisdom concerning all that is done under heaven; this burdensome task God has given to the sons of man, by which they may be exercised. 14I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and indeed, all is vanity and grasping for the wind.

15What is crooked cannot be made straight,
And what is lacking cannot be numbered.

16I communed with my heart, saying, "Look, I have attained greatness, and have gained more wisdom than all who were before me in Jerusalem. My heart has understood great wisdom and knowledge." 17And I set my heart to know wisdom and to know madness and folly. I perceived that this also is grasping for the wind.

18For in much wisdom is much grief,
And he who increases knowledge increases sorrow." Ecclesiastes 1:1-18 NKJV

"The critic is he who can translate into a new manner or a new material his impression of beautiful things. The highest as the lowest form of criticism is a mode of autobiography. Those who find ugly meanings in beautiful things are corrupt without being charming. This is a fault. Those who find beautiful meanings in beautiful things are the cultivated. For these there is hope. They are the elect to whom beautiful things mean only Beauty."

- Oscar Wilde

"Beauty, of whatever kind, invariably excites the human soul to tears." -Edgar Allen Poe

"Be angry, and do not sin. Meditate within your heart on your bed, and be still.Selah: Psalm 4:4 NKJV

"Normally I don't make any New Year's Resolutions, but the idea of self improvement is growing on me. So I started asking around about them. Bubs said he's going to quit embezzling from himself. Marzipan's going to try and enforce tougher water restrictions on the rest of us. And when I asked Homestar what his resolution was, he said, 'Oh, 640x480 probably.' That made me laugh. Then Homestar said, 'What?' and I remebered what league I was playing in. 'Nothing, that's a good one,' I told him. 'I know,' he said, 'You should see Space Quest 3. It looks awesome!'" Strong Sad's blog

"Life is too deep for words, so don't try to describe it, just live it." C.S. Lewis

"One should never strike a woman, not even with a flower."

the LAMEST line in movie history via X Men...
"Do you know what happens to a toad when it gets struck by lightening? The same thing that happens to everything else!"

"as long as shallowness exists I shall persist to rip
apart the whole structure and expose it for what it is"
John Rueben-Do Not

"To be great, is to be misunderstood." Ralph Waldo Emerson

"I know I can not see you
even if I wanted to
'cause your light is the light of ten sunsets
There go my eyes and burned blue and opened wide"
Anywhere With You-Saves The Day

"Which of us is happy in the world? Which of us has his desire? Or, having it, is satisfied?" William Thackeray, Vanity Fair

"Afterwards I learned, that the best way to manage some kinds of painful thoughts, is to dare them to do their worst; to let them lie and gnaw at your heart till they are tired; and you findyou still have a residue of life they cannot kill." George MacDonald, Phantases

"Time hasn't stopped for any troubles, heartaches, or any other malfunctions of this world, so please don't tell me it will stop for you." C.S. Lewis

"You can't keep secrets about yourself and expect to lead a true life. And you can't encourage other people to do it either." Little Secrets

�Friendship often ends in love; but love in friendship-never.� Charles Caleb Colton

Therefore I hated life because the work that was done under the sun was distressing to me, for all is vanity and grasping for the wind. Ecclesiastes 2:17

"There is no such thing as a weird human being. It's just that some people require more understanding than others." Tom Robbins

"I wear a disguise
I'm just your average Jane
The super doesn't stand for model
But that doesn't mean i'm plain
If all you see is how I look
You miss the superchick within"
Superchick - One Girl Revolution

"I could write you a song, send you a note, or empty out your trash
and buy a bucket full of diamonds but
even the most beautiful of all roses must someday crumble to dust
and fade away.
It's a certain tragedy."
Saves The Day - Certain Tragedy

"Live today through the future's lens, don't wanna wish you could reset and play it again." So Bright - Superchick

"We laugh at honor, and are shocked to find traitors within our midst. We castrate and bid the geldings be fruitful." C.S. Lewis The Abolition Of Man

"If nothing is self evident, nothing can be proved. Similarly, if nothing is obligatory for its own sake, nothing is obligatory at all." C.S. Lewis The Abolition of Man

"I do not write for children, but for the childlike, whether of five, or fifty, or seventy-five." George MacDonald

25 "And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses. 26But if you do not forgive, neither will your Father in heaven forgive your trespasses." Mark 11:25&26

before & & after