2004-10-10
We Can Learn From Anything and Everything If We Look Hard Enough

hearing: Where Were All Of You - Poor Old Lu
reading: In The Days of The Comet by H.G. Wells
feeling: ugly

One last time...

But with some more background on my lyric choosing process.

I have an extremely difficult time choosing my favorite lyric, because 1) A lot of the time, taking a lyric out of the whole, drastically decreases it's significance 2) It's hard to seperate the best lyric from my favorite lyric

I can pick out the lyric which is the best, by standards of technical merit and that could almost be considered my favorite lyric, and often is; but sometimes I have a stronger personal preference for a lyric which may be surpassed technically by another lyric in the song, but which affects me or pleases me more than any of the others. When those split, I end up in a dilemna, because to a degree, both are my favorite lines. Usually, in such circumstance, I go for the line I have a personal preference for, but not always.

I love how this game makes me think. It makes me open my eyes and really pay attention to the lyrics. I love how it makes me think about not just what the lyrics are, but what they mean to me. How I interpret them. Sometimes I have a hard time understanding songs because I don't care to, or care to pay attention. But through my ventures in constructing these lists, I have had some strange epiphanies in understanding some songs and concepts because I made myself try to understand.

So this is a learning experience. For me, and maybe for others too.

1) All Pretty For The T.V. � Poor Old Lu �Well I can never live up and the box won�t shut up� (It�s impossible to be a fantastic fabrication of imagination)
2) I Do � Pedro The Lion �Now that my blushing bride has done what she was born to do, it�s time to bury dreams and raise a son to live vicariously through� (Marriage for all the wrong reasons out of time. Possibly even to the wrong person. Think once, twice, thrice before you commit�)
3) Hysteria � Muse �forcing me to strive, to be endlessly cold within, and dreaming I�m alive� (SEE! SEE! APATHY KILLS!)
4) There She Goes � Sixpence None The Richer �and I just can�t contain, this feeling that remains� (Her footsteps leave trailing clouds of an ethereal dust in my brain�blinds my sight�)
5) The Slide � Cowboy Junkies �Darling, sweet darling keep whispering
I'll find you through this din.�
(It�s easier to pick out the calm in a storm�)
6) Wake Up Early � Starflyer 59 �Trying to get it somewhere, it gets you nowhere fast� (It�ll get you there, just not in a timely manner)
7) January 1979 � mewithoutYou �It was a matter of time, I always said I could see but now I�m going blind. It was a matter of miserable time but I heard somewhere, there was a cure for useless eyes. � ([can't I just pick the whole song?"] Absolute power corrupts absolutely. Too much praise�too much trust� The numbing effect is overwhelming�We gorge and we become fat. But, we are not so blind yet. A mud pack from a certain pair of scarred hands?)
8) Cycle Down � Skillet �Sinking in a sea of self, deception never sold so well� (It�s easier to deny how selfish you�ve become. Denial will buy you so many lies to sustain your delusions�)
9) Stockholm Syndrome � Muse �this is the last time I�ll forget you, I wish I could� (The summary of all the bitterness tied up in that line. I�m trying to forget but I can�t. Damn it I can�t no matter how much I want to. I hate you. I'm going to make you pay.)
10) Tame � The Pixies �got hips like Cinderella� (Black and blue and sweat and pulse and beat and sway)


1) Crazy Times � Jars of Clay �It takes more than your saline eyes, to make things right� (Self pity isn�t going to fix a thing. There is a time for crying, but there is also a time to dry your tears and forge ahead.)
2) Maybe It�s Maybeline � Relient K �We point the finger even though it�s not polite� (A weird example of the double standard. Our mothers teach us not to point when we�re growing up, but once we grow up, we learn to point again in a much more vicious manner, and it�s acceptable.)
3) Discretion � Pedro The Lion �he had not yet decided between poison or a gun when suddenly he realized he would not use either one� (But he killed him all the same�HOLY CRAP.)
4) How To Disappear Completely � Radiohead �I�m not here, this isn�t happening� (There are firm roots of disbelief. Because if you disbelief long enough, you can convince yourself a lie is truth.)
5) Serpentine Age Queen � The Soundtrack of Our Lives �New age prophets in our bedroom hall, floating around in a levity ball� (So full of ourselves? Really, with this line, I get some incredibly strange mental imagery which is extremely creepy yet intriguing�)
6) Wasting Away � Luna Halo �Watch my world fade to black, If you're not coming back� (Poignant despair. Can't live without you.)
7) Bothered � Over The Rhine �Your fire burns me like a favorite song.
A song I should have known all along."
(It was right before my eyes, if only I had opened them sooner�)
8) Stormy Hill � Fold Zandura �to share one moment�s breath with you, would be worth every tear� (One longed for breath breathed together can be all the sweeter for the string of sorrow behind it.)
9) Slumberdoll (edit) � The Autumns I honestly can�t understand what he�s saying� I can pick out parts�and what I can pick out fascinates me�the vocals are lovely� but I just don�t know exactly what he�s saying �
10) Last Nite � The Strokes �No, girlfriends, they can't understand� (They�re too self-centered and silly to notice and care. They are far too busy being wrapped up with themselves and expecting you to be also.)

before & & after