2004-02-24
The Soundtrack of My Life

Yes, its a "meme" I guess. But an acceptable one.

I had a hard time composing this. I kept wanting to pick my favorite songs for each "scene". But that's not right.

This list is about songs that embody myself, my life, my feelings, my viewpoint, and my relationships and set the right tone and pace. Almost every one of these songs is, I feel, a beautifully exact rendition of my experiences in each scene. From the music to the lyrics. A hard screamo song with poignant lyrics could never work for my life. No matter how spot on the lyrics were, a hard song, a rap song, a hip-hop song, a screamo song or etc, in an attempt to embody me, would be out of place. There's an imperceptible something I need in not just lyrics, but music. There must be a balance between music and lyrics.

The songs may not always be the best, but always Megan. Always. Keep this in mind, when I am unwilling to explain. And again, these are NOT my FAVORITE songs.

Opening Credits: Collide � Luna Halo



Waking-up Scene: More Than Fine - Switchfoot

Average-day Scene: In My Waking Life � Saves The Day

Best-friend scene: Captain�s Chair � Sanctus Real, Honest � Kendall Payne

First-date scene: I Won�t Stay Long � Sixpence None The Richer

Falling-in-love scene: Lifelong Fling � Over The Rhine, Angel In Disguise � Delirious?

Love scene: Cattleys - The Autumns, I See Stars � The Violet Burning

Break-up scene: Last Goodbye � Jeff Buckley, Strange Attraction - The Cure

Get-back-together scene: Please Believe � Fold Zandura

Fight-with-friend scene: Between You And Me � dcTalk, Under These Skies - Macrosick

Fight-at-home scene: Na Na � Superchick

'Life's okay' scene: Jaded Now - Bleach

Heartbreak scene: It�s Wasting Me Away � The Electric Soft Parade and Haligh Haligh A Lie Haligh - Bright Eyes

Mental-breakdown scene: Tisbury Lane �Mae

Driving scene: Nothing�s On The Radio � Macrosick, I Drive A Lot � Starflyer 59

Lesson-learning scene: Crazy Times � Jars Of Clay

Deep-thought scene: Century Child � The Soundtrack of Our Lives

Flashback scene: Painting Pictures of Egypt � Sara Groves

Party scene: Disloyalist Party � Joy Electric and Have You No Shame Girl? - Solex

Happy dance scene: Love Song For A Savior � Jars of Clay

Regret scene: Patience - Bleach

Long-night-alone scene: Halo � The Gravity Show, Overkill � The Benjamin Gate

The ocean scene: Nightingale � Saves The Day

Death scene: On My Bones � Kendall Payne

Triumph/Closing credits: From Gravity to Gold � The Soundtrack of Our Lives

before & & after