2004-11-12
Ok, I Can Do Things Right

hearing: Michael - Franz Ferdinand
reading: I think I've settled on The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
feeling: stressed and "tuckered out"

Well, I passed my driving test, which is probably no surprise to anyone besides myself. The instructor actually took me driving in my neighborhood (the driver's license office is only five minutes away from my house), and he had no idea, so I felt like I was cheating hardcore. I've got those streets memorized! Man I can drive those with my eyes closed! Yay for unfair advantages!

But boy was I nervous. Right before they took me in, I was sitting in the chair in the crowd of people in the office waiting, and I was quivering like jello. You would have thought there was an earthquake inside of me I was shaking so hard, and there might as well have been. I even almost started bawling. That would have been extremely embarrassing. I gulped and blinked several times, holding back the sobs threatening to escape, when the instructor called me. Just in time. He was so nice. I never expect people to be nice, I always expect them to be cruel and unforgiving, so when a person turns out to be genuinely kind, it definitely puts me at ease. I quit shaking and the tears subsided all the way.

I definitely made a fool of myself several times though. I botched a few things and made some absent minded comments. He got a good laugh out of clumsy, tongue-tied little me, but I did well enough to pass. I've been a little unhappy with myself for not doing perfectly, but I think I've finally got myself convinced to let it slide.

When I got home, I passed out on my bed and slept until almost one. My kitten slept with me. He's such a dear. I felt like an honorary cat for napping during the day with him. Especially since I had tuna for lunch (and shared it with kitten of course). I don't think cats dance, or at least, mine never does, but I think I'm going to because I'm feelin'... well I don't know. But I'm feelin' like dancing...

before & & after