2004-08-16
No Rest For The Weary

hearing: Silent To The Dark - The Electric Soft Parade
reading: Candide and Other Stories by Voltaire
feeling: very hungry, melancholy

Sprawled out the wrong way on my bed.

The covers are a disheveled mess. Sheets and blanket falling to the floor, and laying in uncomfortable heaps on my bed.

Too long in bed with eyes staring wide open. The bed covers became oppressing. The cold sweat from overmuch tossing and turning was too unpleasant.

The lights flipped on, uncomfortably trying to mingle with the light of dawn.

Staring. Staring at the clock, watching the minutes slowly tick by. Feeling the tears rolling down my cheek in perfect synchronization.

There really is no rest for the weary, is there?

When will I sleep again?

I just want to sleep again...

before & & after