2004-08-09
Arrogance Is Very Detrimental

hearing: nothing
reading: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
feeling: (a reversion to past diary days) Like a deer in the headlights of oncoming traffic. Caught by a reflection. Bewildered, shell shocked, and flustered

I peered over my shoulder at a call, to catch a glimpse of a person.

A reflection of myself and my own ghastly behaviors was thrown back at me instead.

Two people stood at a crossing, pointed ahead, and agreed on a direction.

We'll count to three and then leap forward

But when the number was reached, each shouted a distraction, looked the other way, and took off at a run on identical paths in opposite directions.

Everybody feels the same way. Everybody does the same thing, but thinks that they are the only ones who do and feel that way. We're an arrogant race.

When you find another person doing the exact same thing as you, at the exact same time, there is a certain ridiculous rising of offense. They aren't supposed to make the same mistakes you do. You're the only one entitled to these feelings and rash actions.

Arrogance. Sheer arrogance.

Whip yourselves awake, children. Your feelings aren't that different from the next person. Many are in the same situation as yourself. Try reaching out sometimes, and to your shock, you will find a kindred spirit.

Many problems could be solved, if everyone would just stop being so damn arrogant.

Myself included.

(I'm not implying that you are guilty of arrogance. I'm not trying to pass judgment on anyone, but rather, dealing out a vague admonition for everyone and myself. This is a general statement. Obviously sparked by a matter, and I won�t hide that, but this is not an act of bitter retaliation. I promise. Just a small part of my explosion of reflections on the matter.)

Add A Postscript: I have an answer to the second set of questions posed to me, laid out in my head. But I am not currently in a mental position to word them. I promise that the answer is forthcoming. It is contemplated and paced over already. All I have left, is the writing.

before & & after