2004-11-22
Well See I Can't Really Say It Out Loud

hearing: 21st Century Rip Off - The Soundtrack of Our Lives
reading: switching to Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott if I can motivate myself to read
feeling: melancholy

It's funny how the thing that makes you lay down to sleep in the day to escape it, is the same thing that chases you out of bed at night to escape it. I'm going to have to think more about how that works. But I did manage to get something useful done in the absence of sleep. I cleaned my room. I just wish I could have vacuumed.

I was stretched out across the floor with my notebook. A shower of papers and some photographs fell all over my face. Gee. Thanks. I scowled a little and picked everything up. That's when I noticed how filthy the floor was. I don't understand why I persist in neglecting my vacuuming.

I stared at the ceiling and glanced at the clock radio on my desk. I've had that clock radio for a long time. I guess it's been with me almost an entire decade now. Maybe my memory is going haywire and overexaggerating though. It has been around a really long time in any case. It coldly reported to me the time in it's red digital numbers as it always did. 1:30 a.m.? I'm supposed to be up early tomorrow though so I don't know why I'm trying so hard not to go to sleep. I'm never going to be up on time now. 7:30. Ha. I turned away from the clock and half curled my body around and stared at my pink chair.

I should have set my alarm about then but somehow my alarm never awakens me. I shrugged it off as a useless endeavor as my heater blew hot air over my skin. I wonder if my cell phone has an alarm... My cell phone always wakes me up. Just set my alarm to ring like my cell phone and I'll darn well be up on time. That's quite an idea. In fact, an excellent one. My cell phone doesn't have an alarm though. I doubt I'd be lucky enough recieve a wrong number on such a convenient day and hour. Being awakened by a wrong number isn't exactly the greatest way to start a day anyway. It would get me up on time, but probably start me off on the wrong foot in a horrid mood.

Off I go, babbling nonsense when I could and should have been getting to sleep...Here's to hoping I wake up on time tomorrow morning. Perhaps I'll get lucky and my dad will give me a ring yelling at me that he's ready to go...

before & & after