2004-08-10
Beauty With It's Purpose And Virtue Being Virtuous...

hearing: On Building - The Beautiful Mistake
reading: Candide and Other Stories by Voltaire
feeling: slightly irritated still with diaryland and even moreso with my mouse... also, exhausted...

Sometimes, I feel as if I miss the point entirely. I think I miss the point of situations a lot, warping them to suit myself, because that's the only person I ever think of.

In my endeavors to realize myself, I have become very self centered.

I think I tend to take things a little too far. I may be overzealous.

I need to find my happy medium of self discovery and thoughtfulness of others.

The Happy Medium in A Wrinkle In Time was such a jovial lady. I hope mine is like her...

Question two (I promised I would get to it) comes from Billy:

Does beauty always have a purpose? Is virtue virtuous because it must, because it can, or because being so is lovely?

In my own mind, in my own opinion, yes, beauty always has a purpose. Everything does.

But that's almost a matter of semantics. What I may call a purpose, others may not consider a purpose and thusly in that affair, no, beauty doesn't always have a "purpose".

But I believe even the smallest reasons, can be grand purposes.

Take for instance, an empty, false beauty. The mannequin. Made beautiful for retail purposes. That false beauty has a purpose. A vulgar one, but it is a purpose. And more importantly, the empty beauty of a mannequin, can teach a lesson or convey a profound idea. Isn't that also a purpose? And when teaching a lesson, surely a great one.

But in speaking of the grandeur of purpose, beyond these smaller (but not more insignificant...am I less important than Saturn simply because it is bigger than me? Size does not determine importance) points, all beauty serves the grander purpose of...well...beautifying the world.

This is one of it's great purposes. Brightening a dark, dull, wretched earth. Beauty is the powerful beam of light outstretched into the darkness of our lives. The beauty is not as profound without the sordid, and the sordid is utterly destructive and overwhelming without the true beauty.

Because remember, beauty is the offspring of virtue. Where beauty is piercing our forlorn conditions, the chances are high of virtue being close by. And virtue brings an even brighter goodness which pierces fogs of debauchery.

In short, without beauty, the world would be too dark a place to dwell in. Beauty is the crisp, fresh perfume for our oppressed souls to breathe. Without it, our souls may press close to suffocation.

As for virtues, yes, yes, and yes. First and foremost, virtues must be virtuous. Why? God ordained them to be. He set out what would be right, and what would be wrong, and virtue was ordained to be what it was. It was told to be virtuous. Whether anyone believes it to be virtuous or not.

And yes, it is because it can be. Why not be so good and so wonderful when the path is so little obstructed? It is our tendency, our necessity to have virtue to again, light our dark paths, and we would let something be deemed virtuous, and so shall virtue be...

And yes, because it is lovely. I have spoken of the necessity of beauty. Loveliness is a great thing to be. Let virtue be virtuous, and be beautiful and shed light...

Ah I have failed again. By the time I reached the second question, exhaustion had caught up with me. Among other heavy burdens. My window of contemplation and ease to properly and sufficiently answer the questions has closed.

Maybe I will try to rewrite later. I have given my best for now though...

before & & after