2004-12-14
Thank You Darling

When I was a little girl, I was starry eyed, imaginative and dreamy as most small children are. I had a room with a window seat when I was about eight, and I used to flip open the pull shade and stare out my window at the stars at night. I�d pick one out and whisper an innocent material wish. Or maybe I�d glance out the car window on a late trip back home. Or I�d pluck up a dandelion, shut my eyes, think my wish, and blow my hardest, sending the spores dancing on the wind.

I used to earnestly believe that if I did everything right, and wished hard enough and often enough, my wishes would be granted. And so I�d go to my window every night and I�d wish over and over and over again. I�d pick an armful of dandelions and blow them all out. I�d wait every day for my wishes to come true. But nothing ever happened. Weeks would pass. Months would pass. My feelings would change, my desires changed, and my wishes never came true.

I grew up and my understanding of wishes changed. They aren�t something magical like in stories and movies. I can�t wish for something impossible and have it appear before me. That was silly and impossible. And of course in passing, any sort of wishing was hopeless. Even the rational wishes were ridiculous to make. But that�s because there was no such thing as rational wishes. There�s no use in wishing. Wishes never come true.


But I think that�s wrong. I think sometimes, wishes do still come true. No, I know that sometimes wishes do still come true. I have had wishes come true. It�s only a broken shadow of the fairytale magic I use to pine for, but that�s because it�s even better than fairytale magic.

I�m still waiting on some of my wishes but they all seem to be within grasp. If I just wait a little longer, and if everything goes right, they will come true.

I�m the starry eyed little girl in my window seat again, staring at the stars, with tears in my eyes. My wishes have changed, but my expectations are much the same.

before & & after