2004-11-01
Sweet Or Sour?

hearing: nothing
reading: The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
feeling: a bit ill, skipping a proper breakfast and heading straight for lunch always disagrees with my stomach


Last night was an enormous disappointment. My mother did give my sister and I full control of the door and the responsibility of handing out candy, but unfortunately, the doorbell only rang 10 times between 5:30 and 8:00. 10 times. Slow neighborhood? Nay, wretched weather was the trick-or-treaters� bane last night.

At about 5:45, my parents set out with my two youngest sisters in the car to go trick-or-treating. Why in the car? Well, it was icy cold, raining, and windy. Not a big enough storm to deter people yet. My father called twice while out to report that they saw a good many children and several large groups, but he doubted that they would come over our way. I was a bit skeptical and hoped that everyone would end their route here.

The rain let up and actually quit for a while, the parents and children came home, but we were still not receiving many costumed children a-ringing at the doorbell. I sat on the couch, I paced, I yawned over the TV waiting and wishing and hoping. But to no avail. The weather got worse. It began to rain again, but by this time it was mixed with snow. Ah yes, sleeting. A few children still came by though; one doorbell ringing was a large group of children who live on our block. My mother came and dumped three-fourths of the remainder of our Halloween candy in their bags. Their eyes grew wide as saucers and smiles lit up their painted faces, blue with cold. They thanked us very enthusiastically and skipped off from our house rejoicing at our extreme generosity.

We had perhaps two singular children and one group of three after that. No one came by after about 7:30. Around then, it began to snow.

I trudged downstairs, exchanging complaints with my sister. What a disappointing Halloween. Our first real Halloween in about four years, and it was ruined by the fickle, crazed mountain weather.

I went to sleep only slightly downcast by this unfortunate occurrence. But the weather was not done toying with my attitude.

I woke up this morning to this:

(pictures taken at noon. Snow still hasn't really melted off. At all)

My jaw dropped and I blurted loudly to my brother, in the kitchen making his breakfast, �What a depressing sight.�

I won�t deny that it�s rather pretty and snow is still relatively unknown to me. I have made but one or two proper snowmen in my life and I have never so much as formed a snowball to throw at someone, much less have been in a snow ball fight, or any other manner of playing in the snow activities. Thusly, snow is ever so slightly intriguing to me because I have had so little to do with it. But it is so cold and wet, and there just seems something amiss in the world when it blankets our bland neighborhood. I don�t like that. I don�t like the strange, unpleasant feelings it gives me at all.

So by now I was rather sour. My internet connection had been down most of the morning, I was consumed by very low self esteem levels, my halfway decent clothing was all wet and drying leaving me nothing to wear but the disdained, I was behind a chapter in my American Government homework, not to mention the Excel work I had to do, and I�m sick of all my music. Again.

But then I entered the pantry. Oh glory hallelujah we have such wonderful junk to eat right now. And that�s what it all is. Junk. But it�s my favorite junk. Individual size bags of teddy grahams left over from my sister�s birthday pi�ata (we chose to put fruit snacks and such in it instead of candy since Halloween loomed so close), chantilly and raspberry milano cookies, ding dongs, my favorite gummy fruit snacks, cheetos, potato chips, bean dip, Philadelphia cheesecake bars, lots of tuna, and candy (including a box of see's chocolates. delicious. I want my own box of see's chocolates though darn it). I gaped and grinned madly; so much tantalizing food for me to consume. I skipped breakfast entirely and dove straight into my junk food lunch. And there is more to reward myself with later, once I have finished my day�s allowance of schoolwork.

After eating the schoolwork didn�t seem so intimidating. After all, I have an entire week to spread it across. The snow didn�t seem so depressing. After all, it gives me new subjects for pretty pictures. My internet was working again, and the outfit I ended up wearing wasn�t so bad (stretch jeans with bleach like fading, tan tank top, winter white off the shoulder tunic sweater, brown belt, green scarf�not great but not horrid). Of course, my self esteem still isn�t great, but then again, when has it been? That can be dealt with another time. My music still all bores me, but there should hopefully be some new cds at my birthday, which is only two weeks away. Yay! I�ll make do until then. Somehow�

before & & after