2005-02-11
Flying. (with you)

Always the cautious, pessimistic sort, I had the strangest revelation several months ago that turned my viewpoint upside down. To this day, I'm not sure exactly what it was that clicked, but something did.

In that moment, my motto shifted to, nothing ventured, nothing gained.


There's a margin of error, of failure, in everything. But if we always fear the risks, what will we ever gain? We will never feel, we will never learn, if we draw away from the risk of failure.

I will venture anything in the world, despite it's risks. I know that sometimes the price is sky high, sometimes the troubles which await me are many and hard. But there is no avoiding pain and trouble in this life. Ever. It will come to us in one form or another.

I would rather dash into it headlong, knowing full well what I'm going up against, than sit back in my safe tower, never knowing pain or joy, consumed by fatal inaction.

I want to break from joy.

I want to shatter from pain.

I desperately want to live.

before & & after