2004-05-13
An Excellent Day Indeed

hearing: I See Stars - The Violet Burning
reading: Emma by Jane Austen
wearing: jeans, brown belt, red sweater with four stars (green and yellow in color) safety pinned to the front, white armwarmer with stars all over it, large green plastic ring

Understanding has dawned upon me and I fully comprehend the reasons my emotions went so completely haywire. Oh for heaven's sake, I should have known in the first place. That abominable...

I will keep certain degrees of propriety though and be silent on the matter. To have such a lovely day spoiled by such a vile...

I silence myself again. It will not completely spoil my day. Which has, in fact, been sheer delight. Again.

With the exception of the disagreeable instance of emerging from my room this morning to find my grandparents paying an unexpected visit. Bah. My grandfather I don't mind so much, my grandmother is the problem. I had to endure the morning and choke down my breakfast, under the weight of her stifiling vanities and presumptions. She had so much to bother about and force about. Really, I didn't particularly want it. No one did. My parents were not even out of bed when my grandparents arrived. To be so rudely awakened, and then subjected to my grandmother...I pitied my mother. She looked so exhausted, slumped on the couch in her pajamas and staring blankly at the television, being forced to discuss my grandmother's latest fit of hyponchondriac attention grabbing complaints of illness.

The weight of my grandmother's annoyances were highly felt by everyone. It was extremely disagreeable, and I tossed about as I shrunk behind my father on the couch. Wishing I could go, or that she could.

Fortuantely, the visit wasn't terribly long, but much too long for it being her. At least she was in a tolerable mood. It isn't a holiday or special occasion which she could center around herself so of course her mood can be agreeable.

But I did derive a bit of...entertainment, from the visit. It was an extremely helpful tool for studying character. Emma is so well replete with complicated character development, that I have become quite engrossed myself.

That doesn't make any sense. Oh dear but I run off with myself. I hardly...

Then the rest of the day continued roughly uneventfully. It rained again, which was glorious, and I took a short walk to fetch the mail, but it was far too cold, and I had purposely declined wearing a more proper coat, so I was far far too cold to thoroughly enjoy the walk. I should like to dress myself a bit warmer and go out splashing...without a hat or umbrella, but that would greatly displease my mother, and thus must be done in secrecy. And I cannot secure myself any privacy or secrecy at this hour in the day.

Thus I shall do without...

And thus I shall return to my reflections on Emma... I should like a...Oh my...I was not about to say anything......

before & & after