2005-05-13
Whirligig of Time

I've been bookworming my days away (cause, well, I'm a bookworm. duh). Some of the time has been spent languishing in front of the tv while keeping an eye on my siblings. I would try to force them to do something more fun, except 1) I don't have the willpower 2) I don't have any ideas and 3) I think they'd rather watch tv anyway. I'm a terrible big sister. Really.

But that's beside the point, the point is, that there is a creepy similarity betwixt many of the plot lines I've watched or read today. The theme? Free will vs. determinism. It's really sort of going on all the time. But Macbeth very strongly highlights this. And so did at least one of the television shows I watched today. So that got the wheels turning in my head...

I am, so very strongly in favor of all of our actions being the consequence of our own free will. Nothing can sway me from that. I chose my side a long time ago. But I like to look at things from another point of view anyway. So I've been stretching my view to consider everything at once. To question... just because I immediately come up with the answer. It always seems so obvious... but on second thought, is it?

We chose our paths, our actions. Even when foretold. Because when we know what's supposed to happen first, we do everything in our power to make the thing come true, or to stop it from coming true. And sometimes, it comes true even in the act of preventing it. But what if you had never known? Couldn't your actions have been different? Your will drove you... the will to make something to come true, to stop something.

No, no that's a mess. It doesn't deal directly with the question. Fate knew you would act this way...

whirligig of time...

Not that I support fate. It doesn't...work. Something smells wrong about the concept. But I can't prove myself logically any more. The belief has become some sort of strange instinctive understanding. I like to ponder though.

And the idea of a soverign fate working hand in hand with free will...

But I'm not much of a philosopher really. I never will be. I'm dreadfully sensible, but at the same time, too ridicuously sentimental. No sciences and theories for me, thank you.

Just pushing around ideas idly. Everything done so idly lately.

The only things I actually consider seriously, are sad...

before & & after