2005-01-16
Smile By Association...

Today was extremely frustrating. My parents and I lapped both stories of the mall and several department stores searching for a messenger bag. I need something to carry my books in for school.

But I'm searching out of season, so we found nothing. Absolutely nothing decent. By the time we were almost done, we must have been out over three hours. I was exhausted, depressed, stressed, and my feet ached in my high heels. And I realized my day was getting closer to an end. As each day wears on, it brings Tuesday closer. So I was on the verge of tears. It was too much for me. I knew I was being dramatic and indecent to wish to cry, but I couldn't cheer myself up.

We walked into one of the last stores we could think to check, the crappy popular music gesturing us in. At first I wearily paid no attention to it, until I caught scraps of the lyrics. I couldn't even repeat them now... but... I heard something to the effect of, spin you around...

I tried to suppress it, but it was in vain. I could not keep a huge smile from spreading across my face. Spinning...spinning makes me think of you. I stared down at my trudging feet, winding my way through the crowds, as the noise and hustle dissipated around me, until all that was on my mind was laughing and spinning around with you...

before & & after