2004-12-23
My Dreams Are Made Of Silly Suitors and Skeet Ball Bullets

I need to record a dream I had the other night now�The first part is important for me to remember because it recalls some current thought patterns and emotions. The second part is important because of how frightening the ending was. (Maybe I should just take to a dream journal. And soon. Ha. Especially after my Morrissey dream the other night...)

My mother was, by all appearances, a widow, and she owned a quaint little bookstore. Boys around my age most often frequented the store for she was a mother figure to them.

I entered the store one day, presumably after a long absence. I browsed around the store a bit, looking at things here and there, glancing over all the boys who took no notice of me. They knew who I was, and they admired me as they did my mother, but not enough so to shower any affection or attention on me.

Except for one boy. I think his hair was reddish but it might have been brown. He was a bit on the skinny side, and quite young looking. I cannot parallel him to anyone I�ve seen before but that is not because he was extraordinary, rather because he was so random. He was following me and wringing his hands and crying out to me. Declarations of love spilled from his lips as he explained how he had been my dear boyfriend before I left. I grew uncomfortable as his fawning continued and tried to explain to him that he must be mistaken and that I didn�t care for him anymore and that I never really had. But he couldn�t accept such an answer for he was supposedly so passionately in love with me. He bowed down at my feet, not to worship me, but to entreat me to take him back in an even more humble manner.

I kept my back to him and my eyes searched frantically for an escape. I hardly remembered this boy. I hardly knew him. He hardly knew me. I cared not a whit for him. This public scene was making me very uncomfortable. My thoughts were going thus:

This boy has no idea what real love is. This boy does not know me. This boy does not know me well enough to love me. But he does know me. He knows what love is now and he loves me. I could never love this boy. For I am in love with him.

I have a lot of dreams like this lately. Sometimes it�s a boy I knew once, and sometimes it�s a strange boy, but in any case, a silly little suitor comes to court me in flowery, poetic, and violently romantic ways. But my suitors always know me scant or have known me for a very short period. I never return their affections. They always make me uncomfortable. And my thoughts the entire time; my key thoughts for rejection of the silly suitors and the spark of my impatient discomfort of their presence, is the thought of someone else. But I can�t tell my suitors I love another. It�s a deep, wonderful secret. I can only give them poor, unacceptable excuses for thrusting them off.

But anyway, that part of the dream changed and faded quickly.

I was now an anime princess who could change into a lavender bird. I performed a fantastic feat of self sacrifice to save a boy. I carried him to the dock of a great, imposing island fortress just in the nick of time. But the strength I had expounded wounded me near death.

As I lay in the darkness near death, I waited for someone to come tenderly rescue us both and declaim my immense courage. Someone came, approached quickly, an evil guard in a futuristic feudal Chinese suit of armor. The bright blue, red, yellow and white apparition studied me eagerly and ran off to radio his superiors that they had finally got their hands on me. I was someone important and much sought after (honestly this is all a bit like Wolf�s Rain�har har) and now I was in the hands of the enemy who ached for me so badly. They would imprison me, torture me, and experiment on me. I was terrified. This wasn�t right. I wasn�t supposed to be captured.

I jumped up at that moment, much displeased that my glorious martyr plan had been so quickly vanquished, and stumbled off to find my way to the stronghold of good people in this city. I seem to remember that I was looking for a She who looked uncannily like a Sailor Moon character.

But the guard who had discovered me had me in plain sight still and he saw me get up and run off. He set the city on alert and ran off to fetch reinforcements. I just ran and ran. Still in bird form I believe. I ran through the maze of the strangely desk cabinet-esque city, and along the way met up with the boy I had saved and a woman professor. Both had believed me dead and were shocked and joyful to find me alive. But there was no time to rejoice, we had to make it to a stronghold. There were too many guards though and we couldn�t get to where we desired. I despaired. We found a room which was some sort of marsh. I knew I was running into a dead end but I was hoping I�d find somewhere to hide in here.

I was back in human form now, and I hastily stepped along precarious, flimsy floating docks when a figure arose before me. It was a Hispanic, poor man brandishing a gun similar to a bebe gun. His gun had five barrels and discharged �skeet bullets� which were slightly larger than bebes. There was no escape. I tried to evade him but he shot and a huge handful of �skeet bullets� tore into my arm and buried themselves in my flesh and muscle.

And I felt it. I cannot describe to you the searing pain of those bullets ripping into my arm. My body was going into shock. I jolted upright in bed at that moment, wide awake, my arm tingling where the bullets hit in the dream. But I had no wounds. And the kitten had not been at my arm so the pain was not an emulation of something actually happening.

It was just a scary dream with a horrifying ending.

before & & after