2004-12-27
I'd Rather Be Reading...

When I was a little girl, I went to a year round school. That meant I went to school the entire year. Three months of school, then a one month vacation. It was a system set up with staggered vacations so that there was always a set of students on vacation every month. That way, the overabundance of kids could fit in the school.

During those one month vacations, I�d spent every day reading. Every day, the entire day, I�d be curled up with a stack of books at my side. I�d wake up bright and early every morning. I was always a morning girl then, even when I didn�t have to be. I�d scramble to get my breakfast and get dressed, and then I�d pick up my book and start reading. Around lunch time, I�d pry myself away and eat a hurried lunch. Sometimes though, I�d even bring my book with me to read while I ate. Then after lunch I�d curl up in my bed again and read more until dinner time. I�d wolf down my dinner, then return to my book and read until bed time.

Every day, every vacation for years was spent this way I suppose. Devouring book after book after book.

Somewhere along the way, the computer came jutting into my schedule. I�d neglect my reading for wasting time in lesser ways.

Sometimes though, I think it�d be nice to go back to the way things were. It�d be nice to just read all the time again. I�m never happier than when I�m withdrawn in a cozy corner with a nice thick book.

It�s what I would have done today, but we ended up going shopping instead. So I was hot and tired and pining all day. At least I got to exchange my duplicate copy of A Tale Of Two Cities for Cyrano de Bergerac. My first choice, was Orlando Furioso but our Barnes and Noble didn�t carry it. Or The Faerie Queene for that matter. I�m going to order the former at least very soon. Eventually I�ll get around to the latter�

I thought about using my $25 to buy a cd or two instead of two new books, but I�m too much of a book whore. Forget the cds. Forget clothes even. I want to engorge my library�

Someday I think I�ll end up getting lost in my books. Someday I�ll dive into my bookshelf, and never be seen again. I�d like to do that. Very much. It�s a quieter, calmer world in there.

before & & after