2004-05-11
Once A Planner, Always A Planner?

hearing: The Voyager - Starflyer 59 (mmmMmm)
reading: Emma by Jane Austen
wearing: black mini skirt with a paper pinned just above the hem that says "all is vanity", super long off white shirt, black belt loosely slung over aforementioned shirt, black wristwarmer, socks...

Mmmm...yogurt. More specifically, Yoplait Whips. I can't stand the consistencies of normal yogurt, but pump it with air to make it "light and fluffy" and you have me sold. Even more specifically, I am indulging in Pina Colada flavored. Divine. Although I must admit that my favorite flavor is still raspberry mousse. I have a thing for raspberry flavored foods...right up there with banana...although with banana, its closer to obsession.

So here I am rambling about what I am passing off for my breakfast. Delicious as it was, that wasn't really what I came to write about. Imagine that.

Last night, I took a very late night trip to the store with my father. On the way back, he questioned me as to what my plans were after I get my GED.

My answer? I had none. I have none. I haven't been planning really. I sat there in a silent stupor twisting my hands and glancing up and down the road, trying to think of a suitable answer. About all I know, is that I am postively assured that I want to be a teacher. I could passionately speak of the good of the profession, the cultural and social beneficence of teachers, the desperate need for more and teachers of high intelligence, skills and talent, my lack of concern about the very low salary and my passion to teach literature/english classes to (gasp) high school aged children, for hours. I did consider it for hours last night and almost launched into a lecture here, until I grew too tired.

I have that figured out, and feel that its honestly and truely my calling, despite what people may tell me about throwing myself away on such a lowly profession (all untruths). But I haven't thought everything else through exactly.

After sitting in silence at the stoplight for several moments, with the glare of the red light shining down upon us, my father finally broke the silence. He remarked how I had always been a planner and he couldn't possibly imagine that that had changed. He was sure that I had things planned out. And left unspoken, I believe he thought I was purposely hiding my plans from him.

I wasn't though, I have honestly given it very little thought. But I suppose, being that I am finishing my GED up this year, being that I am probably going to begin taking college classes, being that I am going to be eighteen this year, really must put more thought into this and move with a little more decisive action.

Baby steps though....baby steps...

I am going to shove this aside again for awhile and go busy myself about some unexceptional household chores.

before & & after