2004-08-13
Well That's A Novel Idea...Oops...Pardon My Pun...

hearing: I Hate Hate - Cornelius
reading: Candide and Other Stories by Voltaire
feeling: inspired and dissappointed

Who wants to join me, in a grand adventure?

NaNoWriMo is the website for the National Novel Writing Month (in November). This is a nifty little site where the goal is, to write a 50,000 word novel in thirty days. Prize? The self satisfaction of having written a novel in your life.

No money, no flashy awards, no publishing deal, just the elation of having actually written a novel. No matter how bad.

When October comes around, I am signing up the first chance I get. I want to do this. Desperately. Just to...do something. Because maybe, just maybe, this will bear further ideas. Or maybe I'll get a crappy story, with a fairly good framework which I can build off of.

Or maybe nothing at all but a really bad 50,000 word novel. So? I'd at least have written something. I like this idea. I'm going to run with it.

I thought I'd mention it, to see if anyone cared to join me. Or at least, so everyone knew, and could encourage me. I might start up a fresh new diary for the purpose, and post excerpts from my novel every day so you can watch how I'm progressing. It'll be a blast.

Fall is rolling round, and with it, my first semester of college. That was the plan at least.

It was going to be my grand adventure. I was going to come out of my house, and stick one of my feet in the world. I was going to start on the path of learning again.

And then, a paper came in the mail which joyfully announced my eligibilty for college mixed with the crushing blow of the label non-resident and everything crashed and burned.

One credit hour costs $345 for a non-resident. Three classes each of three credit hours would, at this rate, cost roughly, $3000.

And we would still have to buy a car so I can have a means of transportation.

In short, we cannot begin to afford to send me to just three classes. I can only take one this semester. That's all we can afford. And then, just barely.

I predict more tears tonight, but this time, they will be spawned by a different cause.

I never did like the business of money. Some might say that that's because I have none, but if I had all the money in the world, I think I'd hate it even more. That's a little whiney and beside the point though. Money is necessary. We have none. I have no means of scrounging up the necessary money in time. Of course not.

So...I guess I won't really start school until January when, hopefully, I will be counted as a resident, and then, credit hours will only be $66.

Unless they count by vehicle registration. Ours wasn't registered until February.

And then, I'm screwed until Summer.

"O Pangloss!" cried Candide, "this is one abomination you never thought of. That does it. I shall finally have to renounce your Optimism."

before & & after