2004-08-29
No Textbooks! The World Is Falling To Pieces!

hearing: Wo Qui Non Coin - Yoko Kanno and the Seatbelts
reading: The Fellowship Of The Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
feeling: Very stressed out.

I am going to have a nervous breakdown.

My Microsoft Excel class starts tomorrow. Yes tomorrow. At noon sharp MDT.

And I do not have Microsoft Office 2003 like I'm supposed to. I might have it on time. My father saw it at Target, and is going to cancel the order we made online, and grab it there. If he can't I won't get it until Wednesday.

But my textbooks are still on backorder and I have absolutely no hint of an idea when they are going to be here.

AND MY CLASS STARTS TOMORROW!

Immediately, my mind rushes into an utter panic. Drastically dramatic scenarios begin to formulate in my over-active imagination and whispers of fantastic calamaties are whispered into my exhausted sub-conscious until they worm their way into my reason.

The product of these nightmarish, irrational caprices: I'm convinced that the teacher is going to be a horrible monster of a person. Complete with fat, fur and fangs, a horrible bite and a bark just as bad. I can imagine his unconcern and sarcasm as he wearily pounds out on his keyboard, "Boo hoo. Cry me a river. It's your own fault that you waited so late to sign up for class and buy your textbooks. I'm sorry that you did. But I am not making any exceptions. You had plenty of time to get your textbooks before the start of class. I will not give you leeway for your assignments. You have to be finished with them, and if you can't get them done on time because you don't have a textbook, I'll just flunk you on all of those assignments."

I'm such a pessimistic baby.

IT'S GOING TO BE OH-KAY MEGAN. REALLY IT IS.

...

...

...

NO IT ISN'T! THE WORLD IS COMING TO AN END!!!! The world is crashing and falling into the sea, cows are devouring all sport utility vehicles, television remote controls rule the world, the ocean has turned into orange juice and fanatics are actually rational!!!!!!!

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

runs around the room in confusion and hysteria until she rams into the wall and knocks herself out

Remember to check back in a couple days when either 1) My textbooks arrive or 2) When my kind, understanding teacher secures me an excuse from textbook assignments until my textbooks arrive.

See. I'm still rational. Really I am. I may have irrationality rife throughout me, but I have one strong streak of sense running through me which keeps my head on straight, and allows me to stay cool and calm. To a degree.

But now that I'm in school again, get used to me freaking out like this at the drop of a hat.

HAHA.

My goal is to be much calmer and more rational about these sorts of things in the very near future.

before & & after