2004-11-20
Hello My Dear Inanimate Objects

hearing: The Fix Is In - OK Go
reading: switching to Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott if I can motivate myself to read
feeling: abstract

I blinked awake slowly and plunked out of bed onto the floor with much reluctance. I lay on the floor a moment and stared at the ceiling and groaned, then pulled myself to my feet with the aid of my bed. I blinked again slowly, Thank you very much for helping me up, and I bowed clumsily. I stumbled a few footsteps to my computer and tottered over my desk as I pushed at the button to turn on my monitor. Simultaneously, I flicked my mouse a couple times to awaken the computer all the way.

A bright blue envelope beamed from my task bar. G-mail. A hasty double click and the browser window opened. It took me a few moments to read the words on the screen. I was half asleep still but after scanning six times over, the contents finally penetrated the fog of sleep.

I rolled away from the computer giggling and smiling, and somehow got myself up the stairs that way. Everything dragged on after that. I was reluctant to do much but sleep. As my waffles browned in the toaster, I shook my head in the shiny silver at the warped reflection of a dishevel-headed child, I really wish I could have a day, where all I did was sleep. Silence and solitude and music. I think her frown of disapprobation meant that she agreed with me.

Dishes were washed, and so was my hair. I was recycling an outfit, but that was alright because I hadn't gotten a chance to wear it out in public yet. My ipod was slipped in my pocket of course. It was with me since breakfast. It will want a gender and a name soon. It whispered that to me. But that's an adventure for another day. Mother wanted to fix my hair, not worry about my anthropomorphism of gleaming technological wonders. When she was done, it was much straighter and nicer looking than when I tousle it around. But that isn't a wonder to me.

Now throw in some rustling of coats, and dashing on the stairs, and screaming and pulled hair, and we have finally gotten out the door. Yes, out the door. I don't think I quite knew where we were going. I don't think I was quite paying proper attention to anything today. I blinked at the snowflakes being thrown at my eyes by the cold wind. Yes, we are both being swept on a tide today.

The car was hot and stuffy and reeked of uncooperative children and migraine headaches. They really are good children. Not half as bad as most you would meet, but they are not perfect, nor are they angels. When packed in the car like sardines with their bulks of winter coats, they get a little cranky. I don't blame them at all. It makes me a little cranky too. Misery loves company? Crankiness is a misery which doesn't. There was a bit of extra pinching and shouting to balance out whatever little was had as we were leaving the house.

Then there was the toy store. Yes, I blinked and then I understood one of our first destinations. So very nice to finally know. Inside, the toy store was much like it had been in the car. Stuffy and hot and too many people and not enough space. Somehow, this is when decisions get left to the most undecisive people. Such as my brother. He was to pick out a present for my cousin. My cousin is a boy. He just turned nine. My brother is also obviously a boy. And he is older than nine. So he is the Authoritative Source on presents for little boys. Unfortunately he does not know what is expected of him. He was reluctant to choose anything or have much to do with the crowded aisles. I shook my head at some strange lego bird fully constructed and placed in a plastic case. It was supposed to flap it's wings or such crazy displays but it wasn't doing so when it was supposed to. I think you caught your reluctance from us. It seems to be a contagious disease today.

Next I knew, we were driving again. The difference was hard to discern though, but I knew I was in a smaller place, with less people, and all of them familiar, so I was able to deduct we were in the car and had finished our shopping. My hands were busily employed in hastily wrapping my cousin's gift. Yes. It was a gift. We were going to a party... on our way there now. My cousin's ninth birthday party. I smiled at my barely discernable reflection in the shiny gift bag. It's all coming together now! Thank you for the explanation!

Then I was smiling at my reflection of the doors of the...family fun center I suppose you could call it. The door was opened and I stepped inside to be greeted by noise and heat. Lots of noise and heat and flashing lights. An arcade and lazer tag. Joy. I stood dazed and shuddering. I knew this was what I would be greeted by, but it was still very alarming. By breathing grew rapid as I shook from head to toe. No. No we are not going to get out of hand like this. This is nothing at all. Get used to being in public please. Have some modicum of fun today.

A headache was really all I got. Cardboard pizza which made me ill. Near panic attacks brought on by the proximity of so many strangers and the responsibility of weaving through them and around them all by myself. Not fun, but I remembered a bright blue envelope icon and what I found inside, so to speak. I looked at the boy on the dance dance revolution arcade, his feet flying dizzingly. I smiled at him warmly and tossed my hair. Show off.

But first I made sure no one was looking. Happiness makes me bold. Almost.

It was dark. It was quieter. We were driving again. Flashes of light. Food. Furniture. Blink. Blink blink. We're home now. The day is over. I can finally sleep again.

POSTSCRIPT: click here.

before & & after