2004-09-30
Well If We Talk To Ourselves Long Enough, Maybe We'll Feel Better

hearing: One For The Razorbacks - Green Day
reading: for now, we'll say that I'm not reading anything at all
feeling: on the positive side, rather talkative...(unfortunately with no one to talk to... one person doesn't want to talk at all, the other one is having computer trouble and seldom is on, the other is angry with me, the other is away, and that's all my "close friends" accounted for. Acquaintances? Who knows where. NO ONE is on and around.) so this leads to the negative side where I am more lonely than I've ever been in my entire life heretofore and it's tearing me apart inside and making me sob every other 15 minutes, crushed, and hurt

Megan's Exciting Adventures With Her Blasted CD Burner:

Megan: Hello CD Burner. I'm tired of listening to The Violet Burning every time I vacuum. As good as they are, it gets tiring to vacuum to the same music every time I vacuum. Some of the songs I just downloaded would make some really great vacuuming music, so I'd like to burn a cd of my new music. Then I could also go outside with it. So here's the deal, I'm going to shut down every program I can, I'm going to reduce write speed, put in your favorite Sony discs (none of the Memorex rewritables which you tell me you have illegal trouble with or some shit like that), I'll even compile the playlist all over again. I'll even sit and watch you the whole time. I don't know what difference any of this will make, cause I've done it every time, but I'm really desperate and I'm really hoping you'll work this time. Ok? So can you work for me? Just this once?

CD Burner:

Megan: Ok that sounds very encouraging... let's feed you the disc

CD Burner: pleasant whir

Megan: Now that does sound encouraging! Let's start up Roxio...put all the tracks onto the playlist...ok burn...

Roxio: doesn't open the burn

Megan: C'mon Roxio. Burn! presses burn button again

Roxio: No.

Megan: pushes burn button a zillion times BURN ROXIO BURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRN

Roxio: Fine.

Megan: Thank you! starts burn

CD Burner: hum hum hum

Roxio: Burn Burn Burn feed cd burner tracks or whatever

Megan: I'm impatient...I want this to be done...ok here we go! Almost done!!

Roxio and CD Burner: We hate you Megan!!!!!!!!

Megan: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO gets blowtorch

CD Burner: spits out ruined cd

Megan: growls and snatches cd Thanks for nothing!!!!

Other Megan: I told you that wouldn't work. I told you. It's nothing you know how to fix at this point

Megan: Well I was just hoping...

Other Megan: I know you were just hoping. You're always just hoping. But Hope is stupid. Duh. It'll always let you down.

Megan: Well maybe, I can search Dell support and Google for what's up with this error

Other Megan: rolls eyes You just never learn, do you?

Megan: Ok! Let's search!

Dell support: Totally unrelated items

Google: Tech speak and totally unrelated items

Megan: GAH! I CAN'T UNDERSTAND ANY OF THIS! THIS ISN'T HELPFUL OR RELEVANT!!!!

Other Megan: I told you not to be so hopeful

Megan: Well maybe we'll try the Memorex rewriteable discs. Just for good measure.

Other Megan: YOUR OPTIMISM IS GOING TO GET YOU KILLED ONE OF THESE DAYS!!!!! A sign that says the bridge is out? Well I really need to cross over the river, so let's hope that this sign is false. You'll get to the river, and there will be no bridge and you'll comment that you probably just can't see it. You'll step out into the air, onto your "invisible bridge" and you'll fall right into the river and drown.

Megan: And I'd take you with me Miss Pessimist. Just shut up and let me try this against all odds puts in memorex rewriteable disc

Roxio: I won't let you burn

Megan: Oh come on!

Roxio: Nope. You can't make me burn this time

Megan: Well I'll close you and reopen you then

Roxio: Well I won't even open back up this time

Megan: GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

Other Megan: I TOLD YOU SO AGAIN! Your optimism is stupid

Megan: Shut up. Let's go write about this in the diary

Other Megan: Why the (expletive) do you want to do that?

Megan: I dunno. It's not like I have that much else to do

Other Megan: Make lunches, vacuuming, American Government homework...

Megan: Well yeah sure, but there's plenty of time left in the day to do those sort of things. But this is really pissing me off, and since I don't have anyone to rant to about it, I figured I'd just rant to the good old diary

Other Megan: OH SHEESH COME ON. You just desperately need people to talk to right now, but since you don't have anyone at all, you'll talk to your diary like its a person.

Megan: Yeah, so? That's exactly what I said parrot. Nothing wrong with doing that. Just like I'm talking to myself. Duh.

Other Megan: Whatev. Get this blasted thing typed so we can move on to discussing other matters and doing more important things.

Megan: Ok ok. What other matters were we going to talk about?

Other Megan: I forgot. But I'm sure I'll remember later and we can come scribble furiously again. Something about...the rain. Again... Haven't we discussed that about five hundred times?

Megan: Yes. Now that I think of it, yes we were going to talk about that, and yes it is a little worn out.

Other Megan: More than a little. Blast. We'll have to find something else.

Megan: Uhm...how about just something to do? We should go join a forum and stir up some trouble.

Other Megan: Yeah way to go. Learn to alienate yourself or get kicked off a message board in twelve steps?

Megan: Well it could be fun. And it would get me into contact with people you know.

Other Megan: Things done in desperation never go over well and you know that

Megan: Yes I know. Oh man this is great. I could talk to myself all day. This is better than talking to people. You understand. Let's quit talking to people and just talk to ourselves all the time.

Other Megan: Your probably boring everyone by this time.

Megan: I know I know. So I guess we need to take this away from a public diary.

Other Megan: Yep. We'll go talk over lunch. Soup?

Megan: Nah. I'm feeling more like macaroni and cheese.

Other Megan: Sounds good to me! And then we can scrounge up sister and get the mail.

Megan: Word. I like that idea. Let's step out then.

Other Megan: Uh huh!

two megans link arms and stride off to the kitchen while singing a song

before & & after



2004-09-30
Cliche: If Its Wrong To Love This Song, I Don't Wanna Be Right

hearing: Paper Hanger - mewithoutYou
reading: for now, we'll say that I'm not reading anything at all
feeling: very very ill and ready for bed...blah

Ok. I admit it. I am officially addicted to Paper Hanger. It does something to me. It almost makes me cry. I run around all day staring out windows with damp eyes murmuring this song to myself. I can feel this song. It's palpable. It resonates deep inside me. It pulls my heart strings. And thusly, this is currently officially my favorite song... ( favoritest favorite parts in bold)


Not one motion of her gesture could I forget
The prettiest bag lady I ever met
Pushing her cart in the rain
Then gathering plastic and glass
She watched the day pass
Not hour by hour
But pain by pain
If I was a basket filled with holes
Then she was the sand I tried to hold
And ran out behind me
As I swung with some invisible hands

I stopped believing, you start to move
She was like wine turned to water then turned back to wine
I stopped my leaving and the better man bloomed
And you can pour us out and we won't mind

I was dead, then alive
She was like wine turned to water and turned back to wine
You can pour us out, we won't mind
A scratch around the mouth of the glass
My life is no longer mine

If you're still looking for a blanket
Sweetie, I'm sorry, I'm no sort of fabric
But if you need a tailor
Then take your torn shirt, and stumble up my stairs
And mumble your pitiful prayers
And in your tangled night's sleep, our midnight needles go to work
Until all comfort and fear flows in one river
Down on the shelf by the mirror where you see yourself whole
And it makes you shiver

I stopped believing, you start to move
She was like wine turned to water then turned back to wine
I stopped my leaving and the better man bloomed
And you can pour us out and we won't mind

I was dead, then alive
She was like wine turned to water and turned back to wine
You can pour us out, we won't mind
A scratch around the mouth of the glass
My life is no longer mine

Our lives are not our own even the wind plays still. All I felt was fire and bone
And movement, movement
If they ask you for a sign of the Father
Tell them it's movement, movement, movement (of hope)


And: I camera whored today (before I brushed my hair this morning) while I was waiting for a package to arrive. It was the only thing I knew to do. Have fun. Haha. (Temporary album, locked, mail me for the newest password if you don't have it)

before & & after