2004-06-30
Concealed Inner Struggles And Imagined Social Reform

hearing: Captain's Chair - Sanctus Real
reading: wavering between The Golden Bowl by Henry James and Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen but wishing for a new book altogether
wearing: bandages to mask my feelings

Sometimes, a vicious struggle, a battle of epic proportions is raged within the breast of this quiet, smiling girl. A battle which she only alludes to as occuring. How long it has been raging? What if she said it has been hiding long? What is it? What if this is all she ever says of it? What if this is all she is ever going to be willing to say of it?

Today, I went out rather later than usual with my sister to fetch the mail. Some teenage boys were in an orange-y red van idling in front of our neighbors' house. My sister and I opted to cross on the opposite side of the street.

But that did not escape us from them. As we walked past, they called at us and wolf whistled. Honestly, it didn't bother me too much. I didn't expect any better behavior than that, and I was positive that they didn't find either of us attractive, they just wanted attention. I stomped forward resolutely but my breast burned with shame for my sister. Their behavior really bothered and upset her. Just for her, I would have stomped over to that car and beat the stuffing out of the first boy I could have gotten a hold of. I was about ready to at least flip them all off, but I knew that paying them any heed would be an extremely bad idea, and I consider myself a lady and flipping anyone off is certainly not lady like.

Oh the degeneracy of society. It certainly disgusts and infuriates me.

My goal for tomorrow will be to begin plans of a total moral reform to stunt and discourage this sort of behavior and others akin at the roots.

Just Kidding.

My aspirations and goals of social reform lay within a complete overhaul of the public education situation. *winks slyly*

before & & after