2005-04-18
Have (im)Patience Dear

My back is slumped in the uncomfortable chair, and my hand covers my mouth to hide the yawns I work so hard to swallow down as I try to focus on the chemistry lecture. I'm trying to stay awake. I'm trying to stay alert. But I'm having such a hard time.

I stare away from the teacher for a moment, and look through the wall (I almost never look at anything any more) and let memories overwhelm me. Bits and pieces of memories, entire days which I can reconstruct to the tiniest detail. Memories of earlier days in this classroom, in this chair. And the ever growing anticipations.

I squirm in my chair then look back up at the teacher hastily before I lose myself entirely. I'll focus again. For a little while. I'm getting impatient. Impatient. But that's because its not far away. I can afford to be impatient now. Its fun to get a little restless. Like being a little girl on Christmas Eve again... so anxious, so excited for the coming day...

This is so much, so much better than waiting for Christmas gifts...

before & & after