2004-04-28
GED Tests Scores...High Enough?

hearing: toon towm...
reading: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
wearing: capris, belt, shirt, bracelets, wristwarmer

She returns alive! Although maybe not wholly satisfied. I have done a lot today. I have been extremely busy, but I still have so much to do.

My window of time for a diary entry has opened a little farther. That is, of course, because of my gorgeous new layout. Yes, another self designed, and I like this one much much better. I think it fits my writing well too. I would really like to know everyone else's opinion. I spent a good chunk of my afternoon after I got home from testing on this.

Speaking of testing, I know everyone is dying to see all of my GED test scores. I still have one more test to take, the Language Arts Writing and Essay, and tomorrow I will be taking my CPT (ability to benefit test) which will enable me to get financial aid.

Ok, ok, scores...

Social Studies: 660

Science: 800 (that's perfect)

Reading: 690

Math: 590

I'd guess, after the writing test, my total score should be around 3600-3700. Not too bad I guess. But, my mom was really really really unhappy with me. Her eyes skipped over the other scores, and shot straight to the 590 in math. I had been really proud of that score, because last time, I only score 480. I raised my score by 110 points. My dad was proud of me for this and congratulated me, but my mom was very upset.

590 is not good enough. It is not high enough for her. I don't even know if anything under 700 is ok at all. I am afraid I am scoring too low for her overall. Except in science of course. Which was a perfect score.

But she immediately flew off the handle about how the SATs are eight bazillion times harder (yes, she was so upset about it, she said eight bazillion times) and a 590 on GED math translates over to being about a 70% on the SATS which is far far far from being acceptable... I have to be scoring in top 90%. So she was extremely upset and disappointed about it.

And honestly, now, I am too. At first, I was proud of myself for improving my score. I did, in fact, improve all my scores from the pretest except on reading. And I was proud of myself. But now, I am second guessing all of these "accomplishments". Mostly, that 590 on math. The 690 on reading has been bothering me a lot too, and I wish the 660 in social studies had been a bit higher.

It all returns to the math though. 590. Gosh. I feel like such a failure now. My mom was so upset. I let her down. Horribly. She wasn't even proud of me for raising my score at all. I didn't raise it near high enough for her. It wasn't good enough.

It never is.

I never am.

before & & after