2004-08-28
Further Exploitation

hearing: nothing
reading: The Fellowship Of The Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
feeling: annoyed, frustrated and stressed

My online orientation class went fine. All of my anxiety was ill-founded.

This is because of my pessimistic tendencies. I am prone to paint things in the worst light possible. For instance, in this situation, I was expecting to be put in a huge, cold, uninviting computer lab with blindingly bright lights, with scores of haughty, stuck up, pouty twenty somethings and a harsh, cruel, demanding male instructor, and that the system would be impossibly complicated and everything would go over my head.

Of course, this was not so. It was a smallish, warm, carpeted computer room with soft lighting for the overhead projector. The instructor was an unattractive older woman whom was very kindly, and wearing an atrociously ugly Christmas sweatshirt. The class was small, made up of mostly middle-aged and older women with a few younger students thrown in.

My father sat with me the entire time (which, I admit, was slightly embarrassing, but I tried not to think about it).

The online class system (the learning system is called blackboard, and I will from hereon out refer to it as such for ease) is extremely simple, and the class could basically have been called, "Blackboard for Dummies."

It was a yawn fest and a complete waste of my hour. I can see how the class was helpful for the older, more computer illiterate, but for me, it was just...unnecessary. I could have opened the system myself and figured it out within fifteen minutes. But...I couldn't leave. I stuck it out, and now I positively know how blackboard works. Heh.

I must admit though, that almost the entire time, I simply wanted to bang my head against the desk and scream. Ridiculously easy.

The rest of the day was spent in the Great Textbook hunt. It's too ridiculous and frustrating still to explain. It was a mess of rain, traffic, and infinite driving. All I got out of the mess...nothing. I don't think my required textbooks and software shall arrive on time, and I bought the wrong textbook for my other class.

In other words= I think I'm totally screwed. I'm stressing and freaking out at extremely high levels but trying to pretend I'm calm and cool.

And after overlooking my class assignments for American Government, I can't help but ask myself why in the world I decided to take this class.

I hate politics.

With a passion.

Maybe I won't hate them when I'm done with this class.

Or maybe I'll hate them more.

eye twitches severely

before & & after