2004-06-23
It's In Elvish...You Can't Read It...

hearing: Broken Heart - Falling Up
reading: Middlemarch by George Eliot
wearing: pink crossover shirt, pink skirt

I decided today that I would write in Elvish. I used to be very good at this, and I find my skills aren�t all that rusty. So here it is. Thank heaven for Elvish fonts.

For anyone who wants to attempt to translate this, I used the language appendix from Lord Of The Rings, The Return Of The King to construct my map of the language.

I used the tengwar, High Quenyan mode. I also wrote in short form, which means most vowels and double consonants are represented through tehtar. Tehtar above consonants for vowels to signify one/two vowels follow. Tehtar below consonants usually signifies vowel preceding consonant. I have used single characters to signify the, of, and. I have not employed following s rules, nor sindarin diphthongs, nor follow y. I have used two different characters for w, on accident, and on some thoughtlessness, the character for SH has been used to signify an S that made the SH sound. This sound rather than letter rule was used nowhere else. Although I really should have been writing sounds, not letters�

My elvish may be a bit sketchy and unintelligible, but I think if a translation is tried, you should get the gist of what is being said. And the font kinda messed up my letters� I could always scan in what I wrote, but that might be even harder to decipher. Haha.

I might start writing more entries like this if it didn't take up half my afternoon. I'll just have to practice so that I can continually throw in bits of Elvish.

before & & after