2005-01-03
Tellin' Bad Jokes Now...

The way I update is absolutely infamous. I suppose infamy can be to one's advantage sometimes though.

Today, my father and I ran an errand or two together. Really more driving than anything. As per usual, I toted along my ipod to provide us with a soundtrack for the day. Today I was feeling soft and passionate or something absolutely ridiculous like that. So I chose to play Jeff Buckley.

After a couple songs my father inquired as to the artist, and I gave him a brief history on Jeff Buckley.

He made awful, horribly distasteful, jokes about carrying around lifesavers and going into the living room in reference to Buckley's untimely death. I think I might have slapped him. I rolled my eyes instead.

Later, we had a moment of profound silence while So Real was playing. We distinctly heard the line, I never stepped on the cracks cause I thought I'd hurt my mother. He roared in amusement.

That's just as bad as my lifesavers joke!

I threw my head across the dashboard and laughed for a spell. Hardly a dull moment with my father.

I suppose as much as I may complain there aren't really many dull spells in our overflowing household.

My father's bad jokes are absurdly amusing. The common penchant betwixt Cassie and myself for movies based on classic literature is delicious and the height of nerdxcore. My youngest sister is still small enough for me to toss around and to love the tossing.

Yes. Yes I like my family. When at least five of us are in a good mood at any given time, we can be a lot of fun.

before & & after