2004-05-20
Bad Days Accounted for

hearing: Overboard - Matthew
reading: Othello by Shakespear and Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
wearing: mehhhh...clothes... including a huge plastic green ring! Awesome! Ha!

I have not spent the morning hanging out with my way cool great aunt. I have spent most of the day laying on the couch, confined to rest because of my aching neck.

My back is not in terribly great shape, so when my grandmother moved she offered to give me her hospital bed. The offer was accepted, and I now have one of those nice, nifty beds which you may move the head and feet up and down, and make the bed vibrate. Way cool, and it can be convenient in many many ways.

Well last night, I was sitting up and thinking about some things, and began putting the head of my bed back down when I was ready to sleep, but I decided to continue thinking. Well I lay back, and instead of thinking, I fell right to sleep with the head of my bed so high up, that it forced me to slouch and sleep in some very uncomfortable positions.

I woke up in the morning with a horrible neck ache which extends down into my shoulders, up into the base of my head, and has been trying to cause me a bad headache all day. I hate it. It hurts so much. Yes, it still does hurt. So I had to spent most of the day zoned out on the couch with an ice pack. It has not been fun. Not at all. I have dragged myself down here with the intention of writing and entry, but I don't know how far I can make it.

So let's start with yesterday morning.

The schedule for the day was something like this: My GED Test at 11:15, Viewing of my grandmother's body: 11:00, funeral service: 1:00

Ok, so my last GED test appointment was conflicting with the funeral and viewing. So my dad told me I would have to get up early in the morning to be at the college by 8:30.

I get up at 7:40 and have to be out of the house in 20 minutes. Not going to happen, but I still have to go as fast as I can.

Somehow, in just less than an hour, I was able to whirlwind through a shower, dressing, fixing my hair, putting on make up, eating breakfast, and gathering up everything I needed. Believe me, its a whole lot harder than it might sound to some. I have fairly long hair...not terribly long...3 inches past my shoulders I guess. So that's a lot to get blow dryed before leaving the house. Ugh.

But anyway, I made it, just barely, and we (my dad and I) were out the door at 8:30. We got to the community college where I take my tests at 9:00 and told them that I had an appointment at 11:15, but had a funeral to attend which conflicted. They immediately showed mercy and allowed me to take my last test right then.

My dad had to leave while I took my tests, and gather up the rest of the family and get them ready for the funeral. Ok, he's got plenty of time, the tests were supposed to take me until 11:15, so he's got plenty of time.

Well I almost always work quicker and the essay subject I had was fairly easy, so come 10:30 and I am finished. I have done both parts of the test, I call my dad, and he isn't even ready to leave the house yet.

So I had to sit outside, in the cold wind for 45 minutes, waiting for my dad to show up to pick me up. While I sat there, a fairly large group of boys came out and started smoking. A lot. And the wind was blowing the smoke right into my face, and I am partway allergic, and I had nowhere else to move to. So I had to just sit and bear it all. When my dad finally arrived, I was cold, I had a headache, and I was kind of sick.

Well, I had no time to repair or relax, because we had to go straight over to the funeral from the college. I was not dressed for the event, and all I was able to do, was pull on a skirt my parents had brought from me from my closet. Long, ankle length black thing with, *shudders* a high waist. I hate high waisted pants/skirts/bottoms of any sort. I had to try and roll it down and tuck it into the tops of my hip hugger jeans so that they would be partway bearable.

The funeral...I could go on for so long just complaining about that. I hate going to funerals where no one really liked the person who died, and everyone had been on bad terms with them when they died. Such was the case with my grandmother. Almost everything that was said was awkward lies. Yes, there was genuine grief, but the problem was, no o ne really had anything good to say about her after her passing. I hated having to sit there and bear through all these really weird nothings that people were making up to cover up how mutually disliked she was, and what an unpleasant person everyone found her.

Not to mention that the officiating pastor seemed to be ill trained. He had about 5 different points/sentences which were all he used the entire time he spoke. His speech was very inappropriate to the situation, repetitive, dull, unemotional, badly presented, rife with improper reasoning, altogether very dissatisfactory. I could pull that speech to bits and pieces in a matter of minutes there was so much wrong with it.

Now don't get me wrong, I tried not to go in biased, and I listened hard, and I tried to detect good points, and I tried really hard to believe that he could present something good, but as time wore on, I gave up. I tried to continue to listen objectively, and I did the best I could, but that was horrible. I am so glad that I do not have to go to his church. Blech. I should thing he would have bored his entire congregation to death by now. I am surprised he is still a pastor...that was just... yuck...

So it was altogether a long trying service. My headache worsened, and as it dragged on, I got sicker as I got hungrier. It must have been nigh 3 when we adjourned, and I had had nothing to eat since 8:00 that morning.

But fortunately, we were heading over to my uncle and his girlfriend's for refreshments and such. I scarfed down a huge lunch and then sat talking with others for the next couple hours.

As my headache steadily got worse...And I had nothing to take..

We left at about 5:20 and it was still hot as hell outside. I know, that morning it had been cold and windy, but the wind had died down, and the temperature had arisen. I was in a misery in the outfit I was wearing. Lots of black, very covered, and including my favorite boots. Boots are just not a good thing in hot weather like that...just...not...

And our car had no air conditioner. And it was a fairly long drive back to our house. And it was rush hour traffic time.

To sum it up, it was a long long, hot sticky ride, in which my head began to feel as though it would explode, and I was really struggling to keep my lunch down.

We got home, got in the house, and my cat is almost literally right beside the door leading from the garage into the house, dead. My dear, beloved cat, dead.

I began to break down, but that just made my headache worse. All I had to do was lay in bed and try to sleep away my headache after taking some pain killers.

I took my nap, got up, found dinner ready and company over. I graced them with my presence a short while, and then I was off to my computer.

And there I had to deal with this boy who thinks he loves me and we had to go through all this and I made bad decisions and he had to give me his abridged life story and...

I was finally in bed at one. I was exhausted and distraught. Fell right to sleep, to the cries of our female cat searching for our male who had died that day.

She's still looking for him. My parents told me we could get a new kitten to replace the one who died. And the kitten will be mine, but I am gliding off topic.

And thus is how the misery that was yesterday went. In a nutshell. It was an insanely long, miserable day, and with the back ache I have now, I am not doing much better. And I have so much I really need to discuss with some people...

Urgh...

God...impart me the strength to struggle through all this...

That's as much as I can do... My neck is complaining even more now...

before & & after