2005-03-10
Adjectives And Nouns. Beauty Without Him There.

He is not the author, the center, he is simply a modifier.

Not the noun, but the adjective to the noun.

Not the liquid in my cup, but the drop that fills my cup to overflowing.

Without him I have: Peace, contentment, happiness, life, and joy. Without him, there is a magnificent beauty in the world, beauty which no one else can see, beauty people would shun me for seeing. Without him, I am good.

But with him I have: more peace, contentment, happiness, life, and joy. Without him, the magnificent beauty has a new twist I could never have seen before. And people shun me for seeing that too. In fact, for all the beauty I see, they think I only see it because he loves me. Which is not so. With him, I am even better.

There was life, existence before him (in those days when I had no one but myself).If I must ever let go, there will be life, existence after him. I can live without being loved by someone. I was doing fantastically before. I did not even really want anyone to love me for many many years yet. I figured if anyone loved me now, it would be ruinous and cheap.

But I've been proved wrong. I was given something, and I enjoy it so, I enjoy life so, because I am not unhealthily dependent upon it to drive or steer my emotions. They move up and down whither they will. I find joy in music. I find joy in studying polyatomic ions with my father. I find joy in delicious meals. I find joy in a wild storm (not good kissing weather).

But I also find joy with my boyfriend. I also find joy in his words. I find joy in his arms, in hearing his voice. But it is not my only source of happiness. When he is not in my arms I am not perpetually sad.

The world is so overflowing sometimes. And lately I see it. And that's because I am trying to edge closer to God again. And I am trying to edge away from the stress and pressure I put on myself about school. I am feeling freer. So I become more content, happier.

But now I have a best friend who is the missing piece of my soul. The happiness I would have felt without him, is enhanced manifold times with him.

And that astounds me. I did not think a person could ever make me happier than I already was. But I guess I was wrong. Everyone's wrong sometimes.

before & & after