2004-03-09
A Wasted Spring Day

hearing: Summertime - Mae
reading: (truth be told, I haven't really been reading lately) Miracles by C.S. Lewis and The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
wearing:white johnny collar sleeveless shirt, sage green old navy shirt with 3/4 length sleeves, light blue stretch flare jeans, brown belt

Slowly, blackness faded and I blinked my eyes open against the bright sunlight streaming in through my window. I stretched like a little kitten. Well rested, warm under my covers, and perfectly happy as I gazed out at that big bright clear blue sky and the warm yellow sunlight. I was eager to jump up out of bed and run around and maybe roll in the grass.

Then I sniffed and sneezed. I remembered that I was still sick, and my mother does not allow any of us to go outside when we are sick. So I would not be able to enjoy the gloriously beautiful warm spring day unfolding before my eyes. I sighed at this, very disappointed, and looked at my watch. 9:30am. I made good time this morning. But I could still go back to sleep if I wanted. What use was it to be up this early if I could not get up and enjoy the day properly? So I shut my eyes and snuggled under my covers to go back to sleep.

Sleep would not come back to me. I gradually woke up more and more, and not being the least tired, I gave up and hopped out of bed. 9:48am. Wow. I felt like I had laid in bed for hours. So here I was, up much much earlier than usual, and not the least bit tired.

On the contrary, I am feeling very awake, alive, friendly, conversational, happy...just all around good. I got dressed and ate breakfast and cleaned up. All the while mourning that I was unable to go play in that glorious sunlight beckoning me outside.

In all truth, its a little depressing. Because here I am now, apparently without anyone to talk to. Which is even more depressing. I am feeling so talkative and upbeat again. Yet I have no one to share it all with. Just my diary.

So then what? Well, I have been drowning my sorrows by digging up every single spring/summer/warm weather song I know of, and that I have in my meager collection. Every single song I can find. I am not quite sure what it does for me, but its what I am doing nonetheless.

*sigh*

The clouds have moved over my sun of the morning...the sun is shining brightly outside but in my heart, clouds are over my happiness... *rests chin in hand and assumes a dejected pouty look* I might go kicking around my room...maybe that'll make me feel better.

But the sun and sparkling blue sky are still there...glaring at me through my windows... calling for me... Oh please don't...leave me be...I just can't go out and see you because I am sick...oh curse this infernal sneezy cold. Curse it.

before & & after