2004-01-22
A Doodle Is Worth A Thousand Words

listening to: Free (Holla Back Mix) - Rachael Lampa (Why? Uhm... I just need some background music. At least it isn't SCC...and why do I feel like I need to explain my music choices ?)
reading: Phantastes by George MacDonald
thinking: Right about now I REALLY want to order those new cds...

Today I ventured to paint. But as I related to another, I was frustrated at my every attempt. I do not have the supplies for cleaning my brushes when done oil painting. I have watercolor pencils but my attempts to do anything creative with those always backfires and leaves me depressed and miserable. I have colored pencils but no sharpener.

This Rachael Lampa music is getting on my nerves. She used to be my favorite female artist. I have all three of her cds. But that was in the days of yore when Newboys were my all time favorite band.

I laugh when I think back to the days when I thought that no one could ever upstage the Newsboys in my musical heart. I should probably think of a really witty metaphor to stick in and compare that to but right now, I am far more painfully aware than usual of my utter lack of humour and wit.

I give in. I Drive A Lot from Starflyer 59 kept popping into my head. This is an improvement.

Back to what I was saying. I have no sharpener with which to sharpen my colored pencils. I have some really crappy pastels but they get on my last nerve. I like crayons better. And thus it was. I picked up my crayons and set to doodling meaningless objects. Wanna see? Well of course you do. I scanned in my doodles just for you to see.

My beautiful drawing

Omgosh... Megan is such a wonderful artist isn't she. Spectacular. Ignore the fact that she doesn't color in the lines. It is purposeful. Also ignore the big green unidentified object. Once it aspired to be a leaf but the leaf didn't look right so Megan enlarged it by adding some random shapes and lines. Thus, the big green unidentified object was born. Please, this image is copyright of Megan. You may not take it and sell it for ridiculous prices on ebay. Unless you are willing to give the artist 75% of the profits. The artist being Megan of course. Don't confuse yourselves.

Now that I am done talking about myself in the third person, I really need some fingerpaints. More than half of my problems would vanish if I had some. I know exactly how to wash and take care of my hands and have all the supplies for doing so. Pull out some paper and the fingerpaints and work can begin. Besides, I can be a 17 year old reliving her kindergarten days. Wouldn't that be a glorious sight? I just need a webcam to broadcast it to the world!

Or not

I didn't really do anything else productive today. Fixed food for the kids. Lunches and dinner and snacks. And I kept the kitchen clean. Nothing amazing or outstanding.

The glorious clouds which blocked out the sun were all chased away in the night and almost all the snow melted. I loved the snow and the clouds. SERIOUSLY! I am not trying to be morbid. I realize that it seems rather morbid, but my feelings when the sky is dark and gray and overflowing with clouds and the snow falling so lightly are so far away from being morbid. My feelings are so uplifted and I feel so much closer to my Creator on a cloudy, snowy (or rainy) day. I certainly hope no one has a problem with that. It is just the way things are. I love rain and I love cloudy days. They bring up my mood. Not because the world is brought down to a level of gloom equal to my own. (that entire sentence is untrue. I am not gloomy at all...well not lately at least... I guess I am really not known for being Miss Sunshine). But the world just seems transformed and beautiful when it is cloudy. I have discussed it before. I was very very sad to wake up this morning and find the sun shining on the grass and the small remainder of snow.

There have been no poems. I made an attempt but nothing really came. That's ok. Maybe another day. Or night.

Alright. That's enough. I have nothing more to say. No amazingly deep thoughts tonight. Sorry. Been too preoccupied all day. *sighs heavily* We shall see what comes in the morning.

before & & after