2004-01-22
Binoculars and Breakfast

listening to: Sink Or Swim - Sanctus Real
reading: Phantastes by George MacDonald
thinking: that I would like to go read Phantastes now...

This morning, I went to get breakfast. I sliced some cheese for my sister and had a few slices myself, then proceeded to pull out a cereal bowl and the Honey Nut Cheerios. I really didn't want them all too much but I was getting really tired of waffles. I tried to mix it up yesterday and put jelly on my waffles instead of syrup but I knew that today, I probably wouldn't be able to choke down even one bite of waffles. Thus I pour my bowl of cereal and go to get some milk. We are out. No milk. None. I poured my dry cereal back into the package into the box, and put away the bowl. Then I got out two packets of easy mac and poured myself a glass of instant peach iced tea for breakfast. Wow. I am so healthy aren't I? Sorry but I just cannot eat breakfast food without milk. And we didn't have any juice either.

Of course, it was about 12:45 when I ate breakfast anyway so it was practically lunch. I will use that as an excuse. Ha.

But I don't even know if we have enough money for groceries right now. Our cupboards are pretty bare. We are almost down to snack food. We had better get paid on Saturday because if we don't, well I don't know... we have enough snack food to live off of until Saturday but after that... I really don't know. Just hope and pray. Hope and pray.

Although I am actually not too down about it. I think we have been through this problem enough times (I remember when we had to pay for some basics...milk and bread and meat with quarters... my dad was SO embarrassed) that I know everything always works out. It will work out again. My dad said that we might have to sell some of our really valubale coins if he doesn't get paid on Saturday. That should give us enough money for a week. No big. Just inconvenient.

Last night I noticed lights flashing against my wall and at first, I thought it was just the traffic lights, but they aren't usually that bright. I turned out my lights and went over to the window and saw a police car with its light flashing. I strained my eyes out the window but the intersection was too far away for me to see too with my naked eye. I knew my sister had some binoculars downstairs a couple days prior so I ran about the basement in search of them. I did find a pair of binoculars although not my sister's. I took them and ran back to my window and shoved all the stuff I have on my bookshelf and window seat out of the way and scrambled up onto the window seat and yanked the curtain out of the way. I pressed my binoculars against the window in the direction of the police car then looked through and adjusted the binoculars until I could see the police car and the three cars ahead of it perfectly. I could almost read the street sign on the traffic light if I wanted to. But that wasn't my purpose. I just sat there staring out the window at the police car eager to see what was going on. What a sight I must have been. Perched on the window seat pressed up against the window with a pair of binoculars. I was so thankful it was night and that I had my lights out. Imagine what ideas people might get of me if they saw that... Although I don't think I would have minded that. I sat for about five minutes watching intently but I couldn't make out that anything was going on. The police car sat there with its lights flashing yet I didn't see anybody. I was disappointed. I was hoping for some action. Maybe a really stupid kid trying to beat up a police officer. That might have been fun to watch. But alas, there was nothing. I got down out of the window and rearranged my things and got into bed.

Why do the only semi exciting things that happen turn out to be so boring?

Otherwise I guess there isn't much for me to say. I am really tired. These hours do not agree with me. This morning I got up at 10:45. I would really REALLY like to go back to sleep for a while longer but I just can't bring myself to do that. Maybe I will take a nap later. That would be good. Really good. But first I shall read.

I wish I had fingerpaints.

before & & after