2004-01-15
Longing...Longing...

listening to: Breathing - Matthew... HEY...it's not collide...O_O
reading: Phantastes by George MacDonald
thinking: I feel such...longing...

Well first, my headphones are broken... this is extremely frustrating! It means I had to sit and listen to my siblings play Gibberish from Relient K half a dozen times in a row then a Jump 5 cd...>_< ...that was so unpleasant...it would do me no good to turn on my computer speakers because they are in the room next me and I couldn't very well drown them out without...well drowning them out...then they would have to try and drown me out and...ha...an effort in futility...hmm... I used to say that a lot... although I think the word I used was not effort... maybe it was... that was about 4 years ago...ha...but I digress, I am now listening to music through my crappy computer speakers...it isn't as if my headphones were spectacular, but they were much better than my computer speakers...which have cord problems...argh... will have to go out and buy a new pair of headphones...

Which reminds me that I was supposed to order cds today...hmmm... I forgot... I will have to ask my dad about it tomorrow...

Cowboy Bebop is good...the last three episodes were definitely the best... I got closest to crying tonight...a cartoon... making me cry... *shakes head*... and I usually really despise cartoons...but Bebop is one of my favorite shows...why am I relating all this? hm... just got done watching it so it still lingers in my mind... let's move on...

Got out my violin today... the bow needs to be rehaired (heck, I just need a new bow...mine is only a student bow but I don't think we can afford to pay $400 - $500 for a nice new bow...) and my strings need to be replaced... my dad works with a guy who makes and plays violins as a hobby and he will be out here the last week of January and he is going to come have dinner with us... probably see about ordering some strings online from Ifshin's and see if my dad's friend will restring my violin for me... but the problem is, I never cared enough back when I played more often to get to know what I needed for my violin... so I was sitting looking at strings and I was so totally confused... fortunately, there was an explanation on Ifshin's about strings... I think I am getting some medium synthetic core strings and the Pirastro Obligato look good...then buy em in a set...replace all four strings at once...urgh...but I don't know... I haven't played my violin in so long and it is so out of tune but the strings need to be replaced so bad that I can't keep em in tune to play em long enough so I can gauge what kind of a sound my violin itself really sounds like thus deciding what kind of strings would be best...grrrr...alright, well there has to be a first time for everything... this is it... now I should just pick a brand, order some, and see what happens...then be able to gauge what kind of sound I am getting then decide whether I like it or not and what would improve that and blah blah blah...cause now I care... then I didn't... I shall set to learning more of the mechanics of my baby darling dearest... oh yeah... I need new rosin for my bow... yes...

But gosh...I pulled my violin out to sit and look at it and study some things while searching for strings and oh man... I got so longing and I almost cried... I am so teary lately... the beautiful smell... the warm familiar scent of the violin mingled with a heavy odor of rosin... it is so comforting and overwhelming and... I love it... I wanted to pull out my bow and tighten the hairs and rosin it up and set my violin to my shoulder and belt out a haunting Irish melody...can't very well do that though... I wonder if I actually know any haunting Irish melodies...*scratches back of head* hmmm... but it's the thought that counts... I wanted to play something... Vivaldi's Gloria might have been nice... The Brandenburg Concerto was always pleasing too... I mean heck... I would even settle to play Orpheus in the Underworld... (some people may better know parts of the tune as the can can...)... or even something *shivers to say it* fiddle... I am a classical violinist and not a fiddler but I have fiddle pieces none the less and they are a good work out for the fingers... I just can't improvise enough... but I mean I would rather be sitting fiddling than letting my fingers itch as they do... I want so badly to play my violin now... it's been so long and I truely miss it... awhhh... I want my baby back... *cries softly*

*sits and looks at violin case.....*

*runs up and grabs it and eagerly opens it... carefully takes up violin and comes back to computer and balances the instrument gently in her lap* So out of tune...so disgustingly out of tune...yet so pretty still... and such a lovely noise when it is in tune... *gets up and places violin gently back in case*

I would show a picture of my baby if I had one...she (alright alright... I think of it as feminine...I desperately need to replace the it) is a Jay Haide...awhh...so purdy and such a nice sound... I secretly covet a Stradivari but I think that is a little unrealistic of me... ok so it is utterly ridiculous and absurd of me to want one of those... go google them...ha... I am too lazy to explain... prestigious violin maker... he is long dead now... his work was amazing... those violins are so expensive... I won't ever have enough money to buy one of those...

Anyway... on other notes... uhm... it's getting late and I should probably be heading to bed soon... now...

this wanna be cold still lingers... could it be my sinuses? This almost sore throat is still there but not a sore throat... it does bother me to drink liquids but not the same as when one has an honest to goodness sore throat...I just wish my body would decide whether to be sick or not... ugh... I am taking vitamins though and eating yogurt... helping to combat... push my body to decide not to get sick... I think more sleep might help also... but I just continue to sit and type type type away...

My back hurts... it aches... ugh... and it always does when I get up in the morning... makes me feel old... when I am not in the least... so very very unpleasant...

No time to revive my muse... she just gets fainter and fainter... deader and deader... but she isn't all dead yet... she will probably just get mostly dead... there is a difference... ha... I love The Princess Bride... Have you...the wing? Not I... I think Hannah has it...it's in her dland template... ;)

I wish I weren't so nice sometimes...so soft... it means I feel overloaded... maybe if I wasn't such a procrastinator... horrible mix you know... procrastinate and perfectionist and nice...those were all the wrong forms and tenses...oh well...I think everyone gets the point...

Alright Alright I'll go...

Lesson For Today: I learned about violin strings today... gut core and steel core and synthetic core...mhm...

before & & after