2004-01-05
Reflections on ROTK

listening to: My sister playing on the Polly Pocket website, and the heater
reading: Nicholas Nickleby (only 25 chapters left!!!!! *squeals* I will prolly be done in less than a week) and Selected Poems from Emily Dickinson
thinking: thinking will equate with mood today since unkymoods is down...tired, lonely, tired, despondent, tired, plastic, tired

I am feeling plastic...ha...in short, I keep having to cover up and stuff away anything I am feeling so that I can function...its all a mask...even to myself...plastic...

Anyway

I got a break from being a "surrogate mother" (sort of) yesterday when my grandfather took my sister, my brother, and me (and he brought along my seven year old cousin) to see Return of the King ...FINALLY...It was definitely the best of all three movies...I am sad that there was no way to squeeze in the scouring of the shire...that was like, the best part of the book, but I can understand why it can't fit, I still miss Elladan and Elrohir and Prince Imrahil but they couldn't really be fit in, and I really look forward to elaboration on the Eowyn and Faramir romance in the EE...my guess is that the houses of healing will be introduced...I hope so...need to go find out...

I teared up some a few times during the movie...when Merry and Pippin were parted, when the beacons were lit, whe Frodo told Sam to leave (I got closest to crying then), and during all the battle scenes...Battle scenes always make me tear up, because I empathize so much...I start imagining myself as a rider of Rohan who grew up in green fields and maybe I am a young hopeful man who just got married and has a baby waiting at home but I might be dying and here I am charging into battle and omygosh there is an elephant charging at me and he is going to step on...*silence*...and it makes me feel like a million little voices go off in my head as the elephants charge through wiping people out and when the boulders come smashing down and...yeah...I have serious issues don't I? I never go that deep in the main characters because you are being told their story, I tend to focus on those who don't get their story directly told... anyway, I also set to thinking about all the work to do after the battle of the Morannon...that may have been the last major battle, but there is going to be so much clean up work to do for Aragorn...there are wild men and men from the east to gather and do with...there are still orcs left to eliminate...he has an entire kingdom to rebuild...ya know...I think the whole thing really comes out in the scouring of the shire...the hobbits have been gone all this time, and the war seems to be over and they get back to the Shire and it is overrun...Saruman has taken it over and taken down the old mill and all kinds of other things...now, more battles must be fought and the shire must be rebuilt...a war doesn't end with the last big victory battle...there is so much reconstructive work that has to be done afterward...but with the last major battle, one has gone to the lowest point one can go to, only up from there, but it is always a long hard road to recover from a war...

Oh yes...and I teared up when Denethor was pouring the oil over himself and Faramir...

Adventures in babysitting continue...the little boy is so destructive...at first I didn't notice but now I see it...he isn't destructive because he doesn't get what he wants, but just because he is...as my mother points out, he is obviously retarded or has some sort of mental disability...I really couldn't describe it...you would have to see the way he acts, but my dad left his laptop out, and the little boy came along and ripped all the keys off the keyboard and put them in my mother's glass of ice...and then earlier today, he got into my hairclips and scattered all my rubber bands all over the floor...he did both without anyone seeing or realizing...I try to keep a better eye on him now...

The little girl is still ever so bratty and sweet and cranky...quite a mix...she won't take a nap...which is why she is so cranky...makes her cry about so much...and now she is afraid of our dog, so whenever the dog starts to bark, she starts to cry, then we tell the dog no, and she cries louder and harder because she thinks the no is being directed towards her...*sigh*

Vacuum cleaner filter is clogged...argh...

My younger brother has been sleeping almost all day...whoa...it is because he stays up almost all night...this is getting ridiculous...need to talk to my dad about it...

I think it is time to go fix dinner...yeah...I might come back and write more later...I have a lot on my mind...

Lesson for today: Do not leave teetery bags of cat food unattended on cupboards...

before & & after