2004-01-03
Adventures in Babysitting

listening to: Run For Your Life - The Maccabees
reading: Nicholas Nickleby and Selected Poems from Emily Dickinson
thinking: *heavy sigh* it's just too much...

Well, the tending of the children continue...it's tough cause my cousins are never forced to do anything against their will and usually get whatever they want when they cry...it makes them very difficult to babysit...but we do our best...boy are my parents tired though...I do what I can, but I wasn't feeling very well yesterday and I haven't been sleeping terribly well lately...so I am pretty tired myself...

The little girl has taken an attachment to me...she is such a brat but still so sweet...I play with her and I rock her in our rocking chair and talk to her...yeah...I can't figure out why she has taken such a liking to me...I just scratch my head in wonderment... I don't like children terribly well but I still seem to attract them... *shrugs* just run with it...I don't usually talk to kids in baby preliminaries...I do use exaggerated emotion...and I giggle...which should scare people...but when she is running around exclaiming "I gotcha! I gotcha!" and stopping in front of me and baring her belly for me to tickle...well I giggle and exclaim "I gotcha" back and tickle her...she has a good time...and her happy unconcern lightens my mood somewhat...I love when she comes up to me at my computer and looks up at me and takes my hand to lead me away to play with her...herer she is now...come down the stairs... she runs straight for me with a huge grin on her face...now she is stretching her little hand out towards me and laughing and beckoning...she wants me to come play with her...anything else I had to say will have to wait...can't say no to such a sweet, unburdened joy...

before & & after