2003-12-10
Drudgery...

listening to: myself typing, the hum of the computer, the hum of the heater, my sister making noises
reading: Nicholas Nickleby by Charles Dickens still...that part about him and Miss Squeers was sooo funny...
thinking:I have things I am supposed to be doing and why the heck is the Charlie Brown Christmas song stuck in my head?

Well here I am again...And I have spent part of the day giving this diary a revamp...Besides the new layout and blockquoting text I fixed up yesterday, I rewrote my character page, added a ton of junk in my cast page (yes, I wrote about all my online friends that I talk to frequently), and fixed up my d-land profile and put up a link to it. So go check out all the new stuff...I am still working on editing some other minor aesthetic problems with some of my entries...Nothing else worth mentioning...but the overhaul has been going well, and I am becoming far more pleased with the way things look and behave...Next I think I will be changing my header again...not sure...

But that is not the only thing I have been doing...I also did a fair amount of house work today...I did my laundry this morning (note MINE not the family's...thank goodness) which is still drying...I hang dry EVERYTHING of mine to prevent shrinking, and it should be ready to put away soon. I also vaccumed our second floor, the stairs going to the second floor, the living room, the dining room, and a rug in the kitchen. Tomorrow, I will be vaccuming the basement stairs and my room.

When I vaccum or do any sort of housework, I enjoy having music to listen to as I work. Usually something upbeat and loud. I am also mobile when I work thus I want the music anywhere I go. If this were my house, that would be no trouble. Just stick a few cd's in the surround sound in the living room and blast it...considering I am a minor living in my parents's house, I must abide by their rules and not disturb them. I cannot blast my Relient K cd from the surround sound so that I can hear it over the vaccum cleaner upstairs. My mother would not appreciate that. She tried to prompt me to put my cd in the surround sound system so that I could listen to it, as long as I did not have it turned up too loud. I knew that it would be way too loud if I stuck it in so that I could hear it during my chore, so I declined and got out my cd player... >_< I have had the thing since I was all of twelve and I am seventeen now, so that poor thing has seen much better days...It won't spin the cds properly anymore...I had to start it spinning, close it and press play as fast as I could to let the cd player pick up the momentum I started and keep it going. It would usually take me a few tries to get it into working order, and I had to be so careful about how I handled it so that it would not stop spinning...It was so utterly frustrating...but I got through most of the vaccuming with my cd player working...darn I need a new one...actually, I would prefer a little mp3 player...much more compact and easier to wear around during house work...besides having much more music than if I were just running around with a single cd...sometimes my chores can take me a substantial amount of time and it is horribly annoying to run and fetch a fresh cd when one is over...But we can't afford to get me a new mp3 player...I wish that I had at least had my dad's cd player to use...it works fine...has wma capability...my dad likes wmas...

So I finished that ardurous task...Oh yes, before that, I had cleaned up the kitchen...a normal chore I do several times a day every day...Then I had a break, then I had to clean the kitchen up again and eat and feed one of my younger sisters, then I read, then I worked on my diary, then I made dinner for the kids...we were supposed to have hamburger helper but we didn't have any ground beef...*grrr grrr growl...* that made me extremely unhappy...so they had soup and sandwiches and I haven't eaten yet. Speaking of, I need to go tidy up the living room, clean up the kitchen, and feed myself...I am having a hot dog, potato chips, and coleslaw...mmm...delicous...my mouth waters just thinking of it...and then I will be reading more Nicholas Nickleby...

So my day is not over yet...but I am already tired...stayed up past the curfew I placed upon myself so I could fix my diary...Couldn't go to sleep until it was in a more satisfactory condition...guess I am a control freak...yes...I think that would be a yes...

No update on the fight tween jesse and me...No word from him so I continue in the suspended state of impatience, guilt, heartache, depression, and worry. Nothing worth mentioning...

What else? Nothing I suppose...I ranted, I refrained from crying because there has been enough of that, I did my little rave at the beginning but I am sure all of you have had enough of my incessant talking of Nicholas Nickleby...it's one of the few brightspots in my life...

Oh yes...there is a magnet on our fridge that says "Every day is a good day" with a picture of some Irish looking meadow and a rainbow...I want to know who was responsible for gaining that monstrosity and putting it on our fridge...every day is not a good day...*scowls* I want to throw it out...if it wasn't a magnet I might burn it but I am afraid of fire...Although I also saw a beautiful magnet on our fridge that came from a box of my sister's Celestial Seasonings tea...it is awesome...this magical, medieval picture with a wizard on it and other things which I don't remember, and it says Celestial Seasonings and above the picture is says, "Wonder... is the seed of Knowledge"~Francis Bacon...cool huh? I want to swipe it...yess...Take it off the fridge and put it on my magnetic whiteboard, right next to my puffy Power Puff Girl magnetic that says "Back Off Boys". I got it from a box of cereal...that magnetic is...dare I say it...really nifty...ha...it would be in good company with that Celestial Seasonings magnetic...a good illustration of my character eminating from two hand picked free magnets...Besides, the desired Celestial Seasonings magnet is hidden behind a Bath, Bed, And Beyond coupon...I don't think my mother has much appreciation for the magnet...I don't think that it would be missed...

Ha...now I am done for today, I am hungry and ready to start getting ready for bed...just so I can read a good while until my body is actually ready for sleep...yes...today's quote...

9 Two are better than one,
Because they have a good reward for their labor.
10For if they fall, one will lift up his companion.
But woe to him who is alone when he falls,
For he has no one to help him up.

Ecclesiastes 4:9 and 10

Mm...love the blockquote...I have really been feeling that particular verse lately...I feel like the end of it...I fall, but I have no one to help me up...yes, I have the support of online friendships, but I think they can understand that that just isn't enough for a person...I need face to face, person to person contact...

before & & after