2003-11-30
Ima One Girl Revolution

Mood: Content

Music: Superchick...wait...now we are switchin into Plus One

Well hey! I grabbed myself some time!!! ^_^

So first lets talk about my hair...the color turned out FABULOUS...it was supposed to turn my dark blonde hair very light but it didn't...which is great with me...it turned a slightly lighter gold color with a hint of red...that is what usually happens with certain blonde coloured dyes on the hair of the women on my mother's side...my great grandmother was Irish and had red hair and hints of it got passed on...So the color is fantastic...I love it...not very differnt but that's ok. My mom will be cutting my hair sometime this week...*yay* ^_^

I am wearing one of my new outfits...oohh...I love it... I broke one of my cardinal rules of fashion and bought a shirt that had a brand name on it... a shirt that says "Old Navy"....I am so not brand conscious and I HATE wearing shirts that have a brand on em for all sorts of reasons but the shirt was the exact color of green I wanted to match my new pants and the style was perfect and all...so I gave in...I bought it...the color is fabulous on me... makes my eyes look almost green...it is coolness so I am extremely pleased... love how everything fits too ^_^

I have been busy...lots of shopping...my dad has to go work in Cali this week so we have been buying stuff to hold us over while he's gone...and we put Christmas lights up and the rest of the Christmas stuff has been coming into the house to sort...getting a tree next weekend...

So I figured since I talk about my dad travelin for work so much I should tell ya'll what he does...not the company he works for though...*shhh*

My dad works for a company that manufactures Gas Chromatography/Mass Spectromety instruments (not musical...just machines but they are generally called instruments) or GCMS instruments. A GCMS is used to analyze things. Such as testing water to see how pure it is and what chemicals might be in it, or testing dirt, or measuring BAC levels, or testing rocket fuel...a variety of things like that. The army has one of my dad's comapany's instruments! So my dad has worked for this company for almost 20 years and has done a few different jobs, but currently he is field service. This means that he goes to the company or lab or whatever that has purchased a GCMS from my dad's company and he trains them how to use it, or helps them fix a problem. He also teaches classes. That is why he is flying out to Cali. To teach a class. People from other companies and labs that are going to buy a GCMS fly in and get trained on how to use the instruments. My dad has had people from other countries...like Isreal come in for classes before. My dad has traveled to rocket fuel manufacters (fun stories from those places), health departments, aluminum can manufacturers, Universities, labratories, and various other place across the Western United States. So that is what my dad does...that is as much I know about it... I complain about how he doesn't get paid on time a lot too...that would be because he is not signed on to a contract right now. We moved and he thought he would be able to get a new job but that didn't work out right so he continued working for the company but got a diff job from that which he used to have. The company knows what position they want to hire my dad into but he who used to occupy it was forced into retirement...not much short of fired, so they have to wait a year before they offer my dad the job, otherwise they have to offer it first to the guy they fired. So this decision and "forced retirement" happened in about January or February, so my dad should be hired onto a contract again soon... we will have insurance again!!!!!!!!! And so until then, my dad doesn't get paid regularly, he gets paid every time he sends in a bill for work...and then it is up to his boss to make sure the paycheck gets in so my dad can get paid...and that doesn't always happen on time... Oh yeah...this also means he doesn't work regularly...he works when he is needed, for the amount of time he is needed. It can be anywhere from 9 or 10 hours to 1 or 2...anywhere from just a couple days to a couple weeks...it really varies...he never works on Sundays though, and he rarely works on Saturdays. And he doesn't have an office...he just works at home...takes calls on his cell and answers email on his company provided laptop...

But anyway

Now you know what my dad does...mhm...that is also part of the reason we moved...to be closer to a bigger airport and closer to places for him to work...

Well for today that can be about enough. Here is the Friday Five I meant to do on Friday but had to wait to do until today...

1. Do you like to shop? Why or why not?

Yes! I couldn't tell you why...I always have...even when I was little...I used to pretend I was clothes shopping or grocery shopping all the time...I always got a kick out of it...Some innate thing...

2. What was the last thing you purchased?

A pair of dark green parachute pants, a golden brown courduroy jacket, and the Superchick - Regeneration cd.

3. Do you prefer shopping online or at an actual store? Why?

I prefer an actual store because I like to get out and about and get my hands on things and really look at them...Although when I can't find something I want in a store or it is too expensive, I will order it online...

4. Did you get an allowance as a child? How much was it?

Yes I did! It stopped when the money trouble kicked in when I was about 13, but at 8 I started out with a $5 a week allowance and it grew to $12 a week when it had to stop. We had 3 kids to pay each week and it was too expensive for my dad at the time and it has never become something we could afford again...sometimes I get paid for the babysitting I do at home but most of the time I won't accept any payment...although sometimes I give in and let my dad buy me a book.

5. What was the last thing you regret purchasing?

I am still considering whether a few of my most recent purchases were worth it...I got a pair of pants that I noticed are labeled as "ultra low hiphuggers" but I noticed after I took the tag off...I hadn't tried em on in the store cause I knew they would fit and they do, but I need a day to wear em around and see if they are really that low...I know I am wearing a size bigger than would be intended for me but I don't like wearing skintight pants...I am also thinking I am beginning to regret that Saves The Day cd cause the singer's voice is very mediocre...the Plus One cd isn't terribly outstanding either...oh well... my music standards are way too high to really enjoy a lot of stuff out there...but I haven't decided yet whether I really regret any of those purchases...the last purchase I truely regretted was one I made about 2 years ago...I bought a pair of Old Navy jeans in a 4 long after my mother's coaxing that a 2 long would shrink and be way too small even though I already had a pair of 2 long jeans that fit perfectly...to this day, I still cant wear those 4 long pants cause the waist is just too freaking big...not even a belt can properly fix it...*grrrrr* or maybe it was when my mom coaxed me into buying $80 worth of purple bear fabric for making beddings and curtains... >_< the stuff is hideous...I won't be using it... $80 wasted man...makes me very unhappy...

Hope you enjoyed all that...oh man a quote? ok ok...

I have to go eat dinner NOW so I am just gonna give you a Superchick quote...

this was all I could think to use man...>_<

"I wear a disguise
I'm just your average Jane
The super doesn't stand for model
But that doesn't mean i'm plain
If all you see is how I look
You miss the superchick within"
Superchick - One Girl Revolution

Out Like A Light

*Brr...ZAP*

Miss Megan

EDIT: Hey, just so ya'll know...my grandmother and grandfather are...getting along sort of... nothing major happened on Thanksgiving (thank goodness)...I am a pessimest and tend to blow situations up much bigger than they need be...*whoops* There is a possibility something bad might happen on Christmas but I don't know for sure...some day all this will have to come to a head and overflow...I know that much...just not when...so winds have blown the storm clouds back and for now, all is well...

before & & after