2003-11-19
My favorite pastime, Reading

Mood: Thoughtful, a tad worried, a tad frustrated

Music: the cd Divine Discontent from Sixpence None The Richer

My commitment to write in my diary fades and blows away...sometimes I have a very hard time making myself commit to sitting down to do something. This diary is one such thing. But I have made up my mind to do it...so I must update it far more regularly than I have been the past week...we shall see what I can do...

The highlight of my birthday presents recieved...Beowulf, the Seamus Heaney translation. I am liking it. I do have a hard time sitting down to read it, as I always do with lays and epics and such in verse...so I balance it out with a light hearted book. In this case, Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Yes, here I am, 17, reading Beowulf and all sorts of 19th century lit, yet I still indulge in the occasional book for young adults. That's ok...Ella Enchanted is such a lovely story...I really like it...I don't care if it may be deemed "too easy" or too far under my reading level...I read it as my supplement to Beowulf...I think that is just fine. But I really do like to read...I go and spend too much time on the internet and I realize how much I miss reading. Reading is an escape, a stimulator for thoughts and imagination, a growth tool...so much...and I get hours of enjoyment from it...Just wait until I receive more books...I will be back into the old habits...I remember the days before my computer when I would spend entire afternoons devouring book after book...curled up in a chair or on my bed, totally disconnected from the world and everything going on, wholly engrossed in the literature before me...in the story that unfolded before my eyes...a whirlwind of mental pictures danced in my mind as I imagine the scenery and the characters and their dress and their feelings and manner...glorious days...always...in fact now, spinning before my mind...Rand, Mr. Darcy, Emma, Steve, Camilla, Tay, Natasha, Dobbin, Ella, the March sisters... the moors of england, the plains of middle earth, the streets of London, the valley of Shale...so many places...so many people...so many memorable days spent in griefs, sorrows, rapturous joys, and utter fear and suspense...lessons in empathy and lessons in vocabulary...almost every book I have ever read made such an impact on me...I remember so many...the images are pleasant and recall those of the real world...of me curled up on my bed on a rainy day under a big blanket for hours at a time with my book...reading Left Behind whilst eating chips and salsa...taking a hot shower after a cold swim on a hot day and curling up in my air conditioned room to dry with a book in hand...mmmm and the smell of some of my books conjure up memories in and of themselves...I love when books have a smell...too many books these days no longer have a smell in our sterile society...it is really very tragic...give me a used book which carries the odd scent books do any day...mmm...I want to go to a Barnes and Noble with a Starbuck's in it now...yes that is my favorite place to go shopping...a Barnes and Noble with a Starbuck's cafe...the wonderful smells, tastes and sights...utterly glorious...

Now I want a Frappuccino...mmm...and to sit down with it in my big pink chair reading Beowulf and then Ella Enchanted with some soft music in the background...*sigh* sheer bliss...

That is all I believe I wish to think about tonight...after thoughts and memories so pleasing and wildly refreshing I don't want to think on anything else...*sigh*

Here is my quote...kind of lame yet...

"You can't keep secrets about yourself and expect to lead a true life. And you can't encourage other people to do it either." Little Secrets

Edit: *EEEEEEEP* I knew it was coming and now I got some more information...Ella Enchanted has been made into a movie set to release April 23, 2004. Anne Hathaway will be Ella and CARY ELWES is in it!!!! *shrieks with delight* I DON'T CARE IF I AM "TOO OLD" FOR THIS MOVIE!!! I AM SO EXCITED!!!!!!*shrieks with delight again then runs off to tell sister*

Under a Lavender Moon,

Miss Megan

before & & after