2003-11-03
Life is hard, but God is good

Mood: Uplifted, a tad sick

Music: The Benjamin Gate,Contact

Good morning, good morning!

I cannot say that I am happy, but I am much uplifted. I thank those who have been praying for me because I would like your prayers to recieve credit. I believe they are the reason God showed Himself to me again this morning.

After a long, hot night of scary nightmares in my parent's bed with my stomach flu sick sister, I woke up late yet somewhat refreshed. Even before I fully awoke though, I came to the realization that I had a hint of a cold. That would be the last thing I need right now, to catch the flu that is going around. I brushed it off and went downstairs to my bedroon in the basment where I would think whilst preparing for the day.

I began to think on, what else, my condition. My thoughts wavered around until they finally reached my Father. I thought about the past day, and the week ahead of me. How badly I was managing my time, how bad my attitude was, and how much self pity I had. None of these were going to make my days any easier. Then my thoughts drifted towards heaven. I only have to endure a week of this, and I only have to live this life for a short while in the span of eternity. It isn't worth it to whine, complain, self pity, and procrastinate...I didn't have to be my strength anymore, I could let God be my strength. With His help, I could improve my attitude, think of others more than I was of myself, and manage my time better thus having time for work and for play without being too stressed. I just have to turn my thoughts from the inward, to the outward. I intend to do so. After all this I felt far better and concentrated on the task at hand. When I was finished with my morning routine and the cats knocked over their food dish, spilling cat food all over my floor, I was able to sigh and roll my eyes, then go about cleaning it up calmly and happily. Because I am letting God be my strength, because I am not thinking of myself. So despite the fact that I may be getting sick, I have a house, 3 kids, and 1 sick kid to take care of, and my grandfather to keep an eye on, it doesn't have to be bad, and depressing. I can make fun of it. I can enjoy it. With God's help, I can do this. I will defeat my pessimestic nature...I will...

Please pray for my poor, dear sick sister. It is no fun to have your insanity, your partner in crime, your best bud, your mailbox partner, and your own macadamia nut, sick. It gets me quite distraught...I shall press on with out her but I shall pray heartily that she gets better soon. Cassie, your fruitcake needs you...

Well I meant to go back and fix any errors in my entry but I find I am without time, I shall have to do it later.

Today I think we might all need some humour...take this quote from the diary of Strong Sad, a Homestar Runner online comic character,

"Normally I don't make any New Year's Resolutions, but the idea of self improvement is growing on me. So I started asking around about them. Bubs said he's going to quit embezzling from himself. Marzipan's going to try and enforce tougher water restrictions on the rest of us. And when I asked Homestar what his resolution was, he said, 'Oh, 640x480 probably.' That made me laugh. Then Homestar said, 'What?' and I remebered what league I was playing in. 'Nothing, that's a good one,' I told him. 'I know,' he said, 'You should see Space Quest 3. It looks awesome!'"

ok ok...something serious...

"Life is too deep for words, so don't try to describe it, just live it." C.S. Lewis

Under a Lavender Moon,

Miss Megan

before & & after